We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic value.”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic value.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

the rooms are small but very clean.staff on reception very good.but the hotel comes to life when you go down for dinner at the BUKHARAH indian restaurant staff are very very good neat and tidy.sandra was great.and the manager smashing guy.cant mind his name.he told me to call him sorehead.we where on the ggd £69 dbb the meal alone is worth it.plenty of bars roundabout the hotel.but why go out if you have a beautiful lounge to relax in 4 stars for hotel 5 for restaurant.we had a great time.we stayed in room 318 which was a disabled persons room.so a couple of nigells if your are abiledbodied but room was fine otherwise i would have given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roblibbyfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    301
    201
    87
    95
See reviews for
79
470
40
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton,scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at this hotel last night. We got a Deal which included DBB. The staff are so friendly, the rooms are very clean, bed also very comfy. The Indian restaurant is a must if you are staying here & the breakfast the next morning was amazing. Well worth it. Will def return again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kellyp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My experience of staying in hotels varies but this has to be one has to be the most average one yet. The hotel seems to have been renovated recently to make it more modern. In doing so they have made the rooms feel very cold. The LED lighting in the ceilings are very bright and "hospital like", the fixtures and fittings are very boxy and not home like at all. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were cheap and nasty. We didn't eat here as we had other plans, but the restaurant and bar area seem to have the same feel as the rest of the hotel. This being said, we had a very comfortable night and slept very well so all in all not a terrible stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight on a voucher deal. Bed, breakfast and a 3 course meal. From check-in to check-out the service was fantastic. Audrey, in particular, was very friendly and helpful. The room was compact but spotless. The cocktails are a must! The food in the restaurant, Indian, was some of the best we've tasted. Breakfast was delicious, especially the fresh fruit salad. Can't understand why some recent reviewers didn't enjoy their stay. Guess some people just expect far too much.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Clearly some money had been spent recently upgrading the room I was in, nice curtains, clean modern bathroom, clean carpets... but oh the bed! The mattress had more ridges than the Appalachians. Why spend all that money on the room and then put a cheap and basically useless mattress on the bed. See the photo below. If you can squeeze a mattress flat in one hand, its rubbish. Long and short of this was a truly awful night with little sleep. Cheap foam pillows did not help. Look Lorne, the first and foremost thing a hotel can provide is a decent nights sleep. The rest is all window dressing. Room was also freezing but I was so fed up I barely noticed. Checked out without bothering with breakfast so no comments to make on this. All in all, somewhat disappointed! Still, there is hope. A manager with vision could burn the current mattresses and replace them with something decent - and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: You know what I'm going to say. Check out the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here one night when visiting glasgow for a concert at the hydro. Great value for money as included breakfast and 3 course dinner! Ideally located for the hydro, very short walk. Restaurant staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Reception staff unfortunately not as friendly and also attempted to charge us a second time for drinks when we were checking out which we had already paid for at dinner... sure this was only an oversight since it was busy... but could have been handled better. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura21587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night in Lorne hotel and again I was not disappointed with the room standard (very high) and the breakfast buffet in the morning which was simply delicious! When we arrived we were greeted with very friendly staff. Great to see the experienced taking a new male receptionist under their wing and showing him the ropes. From what I could see he will be operating the reception area himself very quickly! All staff from reception to bar to restaurant are very courteous and nothing is too much bother. This is now my number 1 place to stay in Glasgow whether it be for bowling at Kelvingrove or for nights out ie Hydro or the Renfrew Ferry - great location. Bar lounge in the evening for a night cap is very relaxing after a heavy night in town! This hotel is the place to be if you want the perfect ambiance in a hotel stay! Thanks against to the staff for making our stay yet another thoroughly enjoyable one!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#61 of 93 in Glasgow
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
570 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
474 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#88 of 93 in Glasgow
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Property: Lorne Hotel
Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing