We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 1 Night stay”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night, 14/07/14 and got the room quite cheap so didnt expect much. We were surprised by the modern hotel we arrived at. Lovely lobby, bar and restaurant area. Staff were faultless, both the receptionists and bar and restaurant staff. Lovely breakfast and quick check out. The Hotel has a few bars and restaurants close by, we ate in the Siam Thai and really enjoyed it. Parking is nearby on the streets, cheapish for Glasgow, you have to pay between 8am and 6pm. 20p per 30 mins. We would definately stay here again. If we were being picky, we had a room on the 4th floor facing the street and it was quite noisey with road traffic in the morning.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the street if you are a light sleeper. Road traffic in the morning starts a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C4MPBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here on room only basis as going to concert at hydro. Check in efficient. Told we were staying in room 108. We got lift to first floor and lokked at signs pointing to rooms, went through door to find funtion suite and toilets, another sign to state rooms at end of corridor and a left turn would be good.
Room has been recently refurbished, new carpet n comfy bed, but why oh why do hotels put in frosted windows to bathroom in the bedroom? Need to use toilet during the night and put light on the whole bedroom is lighted and not much privacy when showering.
Was having a good nights sleep but the exractor vent went on at 6am and the vent was right outside the window so no long lie for me.
However we paid a very reasonable price for this hotel and would return when at another concert at secc or hydro

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank worldtravellerswife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed on 20th June as going to a show at the Hydro. There is no doubt the location is convenient and the price was reasonable.
The room was clean enough except for stains on the carpet. The television did not work, which was not a huge problem for us as we were hardly in the room. However, we discovered when we mentioned this at checkout that there was a known problem with signal receiving equipment, they just didn't tell Guests.
The bed creaked and squeaked all night long, and not for the right reasons!
The shower was cold at 9am and when we complained we were told that it was because it was morning so there isn't enough hot water to cope with everyone having showers at the same time!
Worst thing for me though is that 3 weeks on, I have still not received any acknowledgement from the complaint form I completed on check out or the follow up email, which the owner did respond to but said he needed to wait for the General Manager to return from leave on 2nd July. Still waiting.
And they have weird, cobwebby patterned carpets....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wendywobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel lovely and modern, perfect location for events at SECC, staff were great, meal to die for, just delicious.pre theatre early meal was gold standard, would definately stay here again. Can't find fault anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalou64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The food in the Indian restaurant was first class, the woman waiter could not have been any nicer it was truly a lovely night had by my self and my guests. When the sun was coming through the big windows and into my eyes, it was not a problem for them they moved the 4 of us plus food and glasses to a new table

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Ferrier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good clean modern hotel that comes at a good price. The room we had was quite small with a very small bathroom, TV did not really work as channels kept coming and going. The restaurant that joins the hotel is excellent and worth a visit in itself!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A one night stay with breakfast and evening meal included. Restaurant food and staff were excellent for dinner, breakfast was very poor. Hotel room was small but clean and nicely furnished. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaB-Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Devoncove Hotel
#85 of 93 in Glasgow
1,158 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £45 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing