We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, not perfect but very comfortable.”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #63 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed at the Lorne Hotel for a couple of days last week with a cheap deal from lastminute.com. I thought it was a great hotel that exceeded my expectations. We had a lovely room, which was a fair size for the price, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly without being over-bearing.

Very few complaints; the room was a little too hot at night, even when we worked out the air con system, we could only get about 3 channels on the TV and our Room Service order was ignored - although on reflection, this was probably quite wise!

One of the best features of the hotel for me was the Bukharah Restaurant. It is a large restaurant and wasn't very busy but the food was really good and the staff were great fun and very accomodating.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

Hotel is in a great location - 20mins from the centre, close to SECC & west end. From the outside the hotel is very new and shiny compared to the tenements surrounding it and there seems to be a nice atmosphere in the large lobby area. Checking in was fairly easy, however we were given a room on the first floor and were shocked to find that the room was already occupied when we opened it. 2nd attempt checking in got us a room on the 4th floor and was disappointingly much smaller than the first one.
Everything looks new and clean, the bathroom is a decent size. The cheap plastic toilet lets the room down a little, but there are nice complimentary toiletries and a power shower. There is a nice flatsreen tv in the room and air con which was great, and the windows are double glazed and keep the traffic sounds out. Another disappointing thing is that there is only the bare minimum of tea/coffee in the room, no hot chocolate or biscuits. However the hair dryer is very good. We stayed 2 nights and were surprised to find that housekeeping had only left us one towel on the 2nd day. On the day of our departure housekeeping burst into the room at 08:30am, which wasn’t very pleasant, and if we had been asked if we enjoyed our stay upon checking out I would have raised that issue, however we weren’t which I think they should consider doing to avoid getting bad reviews!

All in all I would stay here again considering how cheap it was, I just hope that next time there wont be the problems we encountered.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordongreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank RowanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allymax27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnluckySaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornashug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#58 of 93 in Glasgow
608 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#87 of 93 in Glasgow
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £43 - £844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing