We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality, a mile or two from city centre compensated by great places to eat nearby”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #63 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Some of Glasgow's best bars and restaurants outside (Mother India, Crabshakk) ; as is the lively area near the university. Some nice bars close up as well (Ivy, Ben Nevis).

The hotel is soothing, calm, dark, warm, modern, clean. Dark decor, atmospheric lighting. Crisp white bedding and air conditioning that works without being noisy makes for a good night's sleep. Doesn't have the big, glass showiness of Radisson Blu, but certainly has an up-to-date ambience - and compensates with the more intimate scale.

Central Station is about 30 minutes walk or 5 quid in a taxi. It's worth doing the walk to see just how many smart looking bars and restaurants are in the area - especially just south of Sauchiehall Street. Some quite pricey but definitely plenty of class.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

956 - 962 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

No problems with check in, staff were great, room small but nicely furnished. Like that you could watch tv from in the bath! Did not like the fact there was no mirror in the bedroom and that it smelled a little damp. Bar was nice great cocktails and service with a smile, Surrouding area a bit rough but not too bad. Restaurant was good too. All around had a great weekend away!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummywhisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We wanted to stay in the westend for the 1st 4 nights of our break to Glasgow and I booked the Lorne despite reading some pretty poor reviews. So I was a bit apprehensive but no need. Reception is open and airy. Our room was quite big, very modern and clean. It had everything we needed and it all worked. The bathroom was spotless with a showerbath -good powerful shower and the built in speakers were a nice touch. The bed was comfy but the pillows were like bricks! We asked for softer ones and these were delivered to our room with no problem. We didn't eat breakfast there while we stayed but we did eat in Bukharah. The food was very good and the waiting staff were friendly and attentive-maybe just a tad over attentive! The bar area was groovy and the staff cheerful and helpful. The little room on the left of reception with the sofas had a nice feel and was just the spot to relax in with a drink and the fire-wow! I want one! Great location for Kelvingrove museum-we went 2 days in a row and still didn't see everything! Nice, too, to be so close to the park. A not so nice thing was the noise in our room at night from the kitchen fan and boy was it noisy! And it seems a bit petty but a drawer handle had been put in the drawer instead of being fixed back on and I feel its the attention to small details like this that really matter. Aside from these couple of grumbles I would go back if I wanted to stay in the westend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neferteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I stayed at the lorne with my husband on a weeknight, lovely boutiqe hotel with very smart trendy interior
The room was really small with only inches between the bed & wall, we couldnt pass each other at the same time ,if it wasnt a discount rate we had i would have definatley complained about the lack of space.
No mirror in the bedroom either which wasnt too handy when hubby was using the bathroom & i wanted to dry my hair when i rang reception i was told none of the rooms have mirrors !!!
Surely its a basic in a 4 star hotel ? wouldnt hurry back solely because of this which is a shame cos otherwise its a lovely hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welltravelledfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLorne, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and give us your feedback, I can confirm that all our rooms now come equipped with full length mirrors. We apologise that this was not available at the time of your stay adn hope to welcome you back to the Lorne Hotel at somepoint in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Got this room at a discounted price through last minute.com so it was good value for money. On arrival and departure the reception staff were unwelcoming and seemed uninterested, which put a dampener on my overall opinion of this hotel. The room & hotel decor were nice, very modern and sleek with all mod cons. However cleanliness was not up to standard as i found a previous guests necklace in room. Location very good no hotel car park but parking avaliable on street close by.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsC257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Good experience here. Took the 747 bus from the airport, which dropped me across the street. The gym is not ready, so the reception directed me to two gyms nearby; Greens was perfect for me and a 10 or 15 minute walk from the hotel. My room was small but very comfortable, and had everything I needed -- desk, internet, good light from the window, tea kettle, TV news, good hot shower. I liked being able to walk around Kelvingrove Park and the University of Glasgow, and being in a real neighborhood. The staff were helpful and the room was a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crape_myrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

As others have said, the rooms are tiny, especially if you get a cheap deal on last minute and given a room in the extension to the read.

The bad - Rooms are very dull (dark colours) and depressing and many things don't work. I've stayed in several rooms and none of the air conditioning has worked correctly (useful when the rooms are so small and air-less especially if in a room on the main road which can be noisy so you'll want to keep the window closed).

Bathrooms, in particular, have not been finished properly, I suggest the plumbers should be called back to finish the job correctly! Shower heads drip constantly, sink plugs don't hold the water in, cheap plastic loo seats, towel rails not functional in many rooms, showers don't drain quick enough, and this week the glass shower door in my bathroom fell off!

Also when I was there in August, the hotel was 'broken' into overnight by a group of lads who got past the night security and into the fire stair (which doesn't seem to have the same card access as the lifts for some reason), set off the fire alarm at 4am (which was immediately cancelled by the hotel staff but still woke everyone up) and then got onto the roof and started throwing building debris off the roof. Very disconcerting and the police eventually seemed to arrive to sort if out, presumably the hotel staff were unable to handle the situation. No apology or explanation given to guests and this is scary in a city centre hotel as security should be unquestionable.

On a positive, the reception, bar and restaurant areas are very trendy, and bedrooms are definately business class (wide choice of tv channels, tea/coffee, iron, hairdryer, a/c, room service, internet access, toiletries provided, double glazed) so hopefully they can get everything sorted soon. There is also meant to be a gym installed eventually. Definately recommend if the building work had all been finished off correctly but at the moment only value for money if you get a cheap online deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdinburghJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#58 of 93 in Glasgow
608 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#87 of 93 in Glasgow
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £43 - £844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing