We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, safe, no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Affordable, safe, no frills”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Located just 10 minutes taxi from the train station, and just a 5 minute walk to a bus stop, and the Glasgow Museum of Art, we found these accommodations just right for our one-night stay in Glasgow, Scotland. Tracy was very accommodating in allowing us to drop off our luggage before checkin, and gave us our key early. Of course, we had called her beforehand to line this up, as well as asking which bus to take to Beersbridge.
Because it's a continental breakfast, this was much more convenient for us as we had to catch an early train. Tracy lined up our taxi for us since we had no phone access.
The price was perfect, the room wasbasic but clean, and since we weren't looking for any frills, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    25
    18
    12
    16
See reviews for
17
39
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here, last saturday night, with a mate when we travelled up for a Charlatans concert at the Barrowlands.

Massive rooms, absolutely spotless, great power shower, comfy beds, telly in the room, tea and coffee making facilities.

Owner was great, more than willing to help with any problems you might have, and give info on surrounding area. Wouldn't hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlatanefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

After having a poor experience in the nearby Argyll Guest House a couple of months earlier, I did further research on budget accommodation in the same area when returning to Glasgow with a friend for a 2 night stay in December. I settled on the Beersbridge Lodge due to the very cheap price and decent reviews on Tripadvisor.

The owner of the hotel was very nice to us upon arrival and leaving, even wishing us a nice Christmas. The room we had was on the ground floor at the front of the hotel and although a little dated we couldn't complain at the price. It was very large and relatively clean. The bathroom itself was decent also. The only complain would be the beds where the springs had clearly gone, ironically it was bearable and we managed a decent enough sleep for 2 nights. Breakfast was a limited continental but again we couldn't complain at the price.

Overall 3.5 / 4 rounded up to 4. Would definitely recommend to anyone seeking reasonable budget accommodation at an excellent price if staying in Glasgow.

Pro's: Service, large room, cheap and cheerful.
Con's: Basic breakfast, 15 min walk from city centre, bed need replacing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed for two nights. It was warm, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and well fitted. In our room, the carpet was quite marked, only three of the six hinges on the wardrobe doors were attached and its base had dropped out. I had to reattach one hinge to make a door secure.

There were a lot of water stains on the ceiling and some wallpaper had come loose and was re-attached with sellotape. Had it been more expensive we would have complained about the poor room standard. At the end of our stay I investigated several other rooms, most of which were twin or triple. They all had great bathrooms and the room decor was in good condition, much better than room 10, which is a double. Our TV was small and very tinny sounding - but at this price it is not a complaint.

Breakfast was orange juice, tea or instant coffee, a few cereals and toast in a pleasant and clean breakfast room. Bananas and oranges were available. Service was direct and straight to the point. Note that this establishment does not accept cards, which was not a problem because there is a nearby cash machine. The low accommodation price allowed us to spend more on meals during our stay in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Consider avoiding Room 10 unless it is confirmed to have been refurbished. It does have some noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimVal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were delighted with our stay here. The guesthouse was clean and attractive. The room was large , clean and comfortable. The hostess here is wonderful; friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I would gladly stay here again. We paid twice the price in other places and didn't like them as well. We felt welcome here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I go to Glasgow often for work and stay here every time. I recommended this place to a friend and she decided to stay for 3 nights instead of one. There's free on street parking, friendly staff, free continental breakfast, rooms are massive and beds are luciously comfortable, freeview TV, ensuite bathroom within the room, you have an external key to come and go as you need, and it's prime location for me one minute's drive from the student union where I do the vintage fairs. It's simply bargainous.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We booked a room at Beersbridge Lodge several weeks before our expected stay, but on the day we were due to arrive we were contacted by them to be told that they didn't have room for us, but they would book us into another similar B&B "just around the corner". We were due that night to go to the Exhibition Centre and had booked the room at Beersbridge Lodge as it was close enough to walk (an 18 minute walk according to Google maps). So when they told us we were being moved, we told them we were going to the SECC and asked how far the new place was away. We were told it was "about the same distance" and that we should come to the Lodge and they would arrange for a taxi to take us to the new B&B.

However, to our great disappointment, the new B&B was Beersbridge Annex, which is nowhere near the SECC! When we arrived we were very disappointed with the accommodation, but had no other choice but to stay as we were about to go and see our show, we don't know Glasgow, we had our luggage with us and nowhere else to stay. We had to catch a taxi there, as the walk was going to take nearly an hour, we were already late as we'd had to change hotels and we missed the start of the show as we had been led to believe the new accommodation was close, and we had had to arrange a taxi.

When we arrived back (by taxi) we got to fully appreciate the state of the Beersbridge Annex accommodation. I realise that this is supposed to be a review of Beersbridge Lodge, but the Annex is where they choose to rearrange our accommodation at the last minute. At the Annex there was vomit all over the stairs and the furniture in the bedroom was broken. We had booked a twin room and were told that there were only doubles. We had booked a room with breakfast included, but there was no breakfast available at the Annex. We could not get the heating to work and the room was freezing. However just after midnight, the fire alarm went off and we were evacuated into the car park. However at this point we were able to find a member of staff to put our heating on, but the room was very cold and didn't warm until the morning. Finally, when we left in the morning, we found that the block had been vandalised in the night and wet paint was all over the door of reception making it very hard to give the key back.

We were extremely angry about being moved to this alternative accommodation. I understand situations arise and rooms become double booked. However, I do not understand why we were not told about this earlier and why we were lied to about the location of the new accommodation. We were very disappointed in the new accommodation which was dirty, it was not a twin room, it was miles away from where we had booked to be and did not include the breakfast we were expecting. However, most of all we were disappointed that we missed the start of the show that we had booked to see.

Before being moved from Beersbridge Lodge we were told by the lady who worked there that we should make a complaint. We did attempt to bring it up with the reception staff at Beersbridge Annex, but they seemed inexperienced and completely incapable of dealing with our complaint. We felt that we should be compensated for the cost of the accommodation and the additional taxi fares we had to pay. However, despite promptly writing to the proprietor of Beersbridge Lodge on our arrival home, we are yet to receive a reply over 5 months later.

Beersbridge Lodge is not to be trusted and Beersbridge Annex is a shambles. Don’t stay at either of these places.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 36 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 50 Bentinck Street, Glasgow G3 7TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Glasgow
Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing