We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fergie”
Review of St. Enoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Enoch Hotel
Ranked #93 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Very Central, comfortable bed,Very cheap, the most basic hotel that we have ever used, window right above kebab shop,smell was pleasant enough, but over powering, the reception guy was very helpfull, floor sloped to the left. no furniture, un beknown to us but little bag of cornflakes,milk,juice,plastic bowl,and spoon left outside door at 7 in the morning. No real house keeping, bin was emptied every day, used same towels for 3 days.bed was not made up. If stuck would use again,BUT, would scour Glasgow for an alternative first. Taxi driver had A lot of negative comments about it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

stayed here over the weekend,very clean and the bed was better than at home!!

only downside was stayed on top floor and no lift.

would definitely stay there again, so handy to station ,shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Last minute booking due to business meeting running over. Was fairly reticent anyway because of the price (£35 B&B). Should have been a warning as this place is no better than a YMCA Hostel. I was going out for a meal and some drinks with colleagues so I decided that since the bedding looked clean and a lock was on the door, I would put up with the spartan conditions - that and a hot shower in the morning.
More fool me. The shower was an old Mira unit and the temperature control thread was stripped making it impossible to gain access to anything other than freezing cold water. I was happy to just get away to be honest and despite my protests at reception all I got in return was a explanation of a " crap maintenance man" no apology and most of all not even the offer of any compensation.
I would urge anyone to stay well clear of this "hotel" and sleep in the car in the adjacent multi-story for a better nights kip.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenny-Lyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We normally stay nearby to this hotel when staying in Glasgow. But Glasgow was all but sold out. So we decided to try the St Enoch Hotel. For a budget hotel, we were well pleased with everything inside the building. Shame about the loudmouth locals outside. But the hotel will give us a room away from the main road if we ask them next time. As we were a last minute booking we had to take what was available. We would highly recommend this as an overnight stay. So close to the City Centre and the to the mains Railway stations.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here, on the opening night 29th of September. The place is under renovation at the moment, though i must admit I was surprised at the price and quality of the accomdation on offer. I had a double room for £80 for two nights, where else in Glasgow, can you get somewhere clean and tidy to lay you're head at such a reasonable price?

Ive stayed in various hotels in Glasgow, and i must admit that this little beauty punches well above its weight. From the moment you enter you realise it has a homey feel to it, and that you dont get with big chain hotels.

Thats why I will BE BACK HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jpk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Had reservations after reading the below review but it is changed since 2010 and is now a basic clean city centre hotel, great option for a last minute booking. There is work being done so I think it will get better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Myself and two friends booked this hotel last minute as we needed a place to stay after a night out. As we payed £17 each for the room we weren't expecting much, but we're pleasantly surprised. The rooms although basic had everything we needed including towels and coffee making facilities. The room was spotless. The hotel is having some modifications but the staff were very friendly and helpfully.

The location was perfect, situated right next to the st Enoch centre, right next to a subway station and 5 minutes walk from central station.

Dont expect the Ritz and you won't be disappointed. We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jorjee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,910 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#65 of 93 in Glasgow
318 reviews
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 93 in Glasgow
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Enoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Enoch Hotel

Address: St. Enoch Square 44 Howard Street, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £19 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — St. Enoch Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your St. Enoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Enoch Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing