We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, central, clean and very friendly staff”
Review of St. Enoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Enoch Hotel
Ranked #96 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap, central, clean and very friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed there a couple of nights in Oct. 2012. The location is perfect for access to the town centre . The accomodation was simple but all the necessities were available and in good repair, the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    57
    90
    62
    143
See reviews for
30
86
60
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Booked this late on and was trying to keep costs to a minimum. Firstly, the positives. The location is good, being a 5 minute walk from Central station and a stone's throw from an underground station. The room was very basic but the bed was nice and comfortable.

Negatives. The toilet made a ghastly noise when flushed and this obviously wasn't the only room to have this judging by the sounds from elsewhere. The shower worked but the temperature went all the way from freezing to merely cold. Not good in November.

You can get away with this if you're on a football trip and will spend the shortest amount of time possible in the room. Otherwise, pay a bit more.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CuleBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I was surprised at the quality of the hotel - at £25 a night I got a family room for single occupancy (a comfy double bed all to myself with 4 pillows and all), I stayed 2 nights as I was flat hunting and needed something cheap and simple.
Location is SUPERB! If you need easy access to city centre, this is the place to go! It's literally 5 minutes from central station and St.Enoch subway station is just across the street, there's a bus stop in front of the building.
they have free wi-fi throughout, even though the rooms are very basic (not much storage space), they're ok. The cleanliness can be argued - I found a fake fingernail next to the bed, plus regular signs of wear and tear, shower wasn't cleaned very thoroughly (water/soap marks on the glass). The room didn't have curtains and the blinds were not that helpful, but since I was tired, I didn't mind much.
As a woman, I'd prefer the room to have a hair dryer, but for a few nights I managed fine.
The bathroom was tilted, which I found funny :)

Other than that, the reception staff were very helpful and there was a breakfast package left outside the door (cornflakes + milk and juice).

Due to the amazing location, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, especially for that price. Very good value for money if you're not fussy and need a place to crash in Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends after a night out in Glasgow. Very, very basic rooms. Our room had 3 sets of bunk beds, a wardrobe, small table and a TV. Bedding was clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable, the toilet was also clean but I wouldn't have used the shower.

In the morning we found 3 brown paper bags outside the room with cornflakes, paper bowl, spoon, milk and apple juice inside. Felt like we were back at Brownie Camp! I really can't complain as it was just what we needed. However next time, I'd rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere less basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellagirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Very Central, comfortable bed,Very cheap, the most basic hotel that we have ever used, window right above kebab shop,smell was pleasant enough, but over powering, the reception guy was very helpfull, floor sloped to the left. no furniture, un beknown to us but little bag of cornflakes,milk,juice,plastic bowl,and spoon left outside door at 7 in the morning. No real house keeping, bin was emptied every day, used same towels for 3 days.bed was not made up. If stuck would use again,BUT, would scour Glasgow for an alternative first. Taxi driver had A lot of negative comments about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

stayed here over the weekend,very clean and the bed was better than at home!!

only downside was stayed on top floor and no lift.

would definitely stay there again, so handy to station ,shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Last minute booking due to business meeting running over. Was fairly reticent anyway because of the price (£35 B&B). Should have been a warning as this place is no better than a YMCA Hostel. I was going out for a meal and some drinks with colleagues so I decided that since the bedding looked clean and a lock was on the door, I would put up with the spartan conditions - that and a hot shower in the morning.
More fool me. The shower was an old Mira unit and the temperature control thread was stripped making it impossible to gain access to anything other than freezing cold water. I was happy to just get away to be honest and despite my protests at reception all I got in return was a explanation of a " crap maintenance man" no apology and most of all not even the offer of any compensation.
I would urge anyone to stay well clear of this "hotel" and sleep in the car in the adjacent multi-story for a better nights kip.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenny-Lyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#82 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Enoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Enoch Hotel

Property: St. Enoch Hotel
Address: St. Enoch Square 44 Howard Street, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — St. Enoch Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. Enoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Enoch Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing