We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a pre-wedding tryst” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Enoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Enoch Hotel
Ranked #96 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a pre-wedding tryst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my good friend Rob on a stag do of sorts. Coming from Cambridge originally I was not used to the bright lights and hussle-and-bussle of a big city such as Glasgow. However, Barry the concierge was most welcoming and would greet me with a 'Whit's yer game ballheid?' whenever I passed through reception.

We stayed over a weekend and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the bed linen and how the beds coped under extreme punishment.

However, my trip turned somewhat darker when, following a prolonged heavy petty session, my 'date' Clare turned out to be a man. I did what anybody else would, I finished up (twice) and politely asked her to leave. Upon exiting the room 'Clare' proceeded to run shouting up and down the corridor about some unpaid fees. This is when Barry the concierge proved his worth as he 'put the heid' on Clare and dragged her out into St Enochs Square enabling me to get some well deserved shut eye.

Overall, the hotel was very good and great value for money - leaving me with extra for some special activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    55
    86
    61
    138
See reviews for
28
83
60
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

The pros:
The location is very central, right beside the tube, central train station and the shopping area. There is also a Tesco right beside it which is handy.

Each room was given codes for free Wi-Fi.

There was breakfast delievered to the room each day which was nice, a juive box, cereal and milk. There was also a kettle and biscuits in the room. We were also given towels and soaps.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

The cons: Rooms were a little cold and were quite bright in the mornings (had shutter blinds). Water pressure wasn't the best so our shower didn't work in the ensuite the first night.


Would recommend for young groups of friends, our room was bunk beds a bit like a hostel style but without lockers.

Room Tip: We booked a 3 person private room and were given a room with 2 sets of bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanghainoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

was ok ...but stairways very narrow and dangerous.... room was ok .... but ive been ill since i came home .... as you,s put homeless people up in this hotel they could be druggies or drinkers ...but i never seen any hand sanitiser ....specially at tops of landings and bottoms of stairs as who knows what germs people have on there hands and if they are holding on to bannister yuk .. this probably explains why i am ill ....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gailynews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham,England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

A good value for money place to spend a few nights. Very convenient for Glasgow Central station and St.Enoch Subway (underground) station. Despite the budget price I got a en-suite double to myself.The only drawback is that on a Friday or Saturday there is quite a lot of street noise from the kebab and chipshops on the street it fronts onto. Maybe you could ask for a back room,I will next time.

Room Tip: Back room if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddycomeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terengganu
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find. Just 5 minutes from glasgow central station and very near to shopping areas. It is great if you're travelling in groups because they have rooms for 4-6 persons. Breakfast was just cereal and milk and juice packed in small brown bags. I didnt expect more than that anyway because the rate was quite cheap. My friends and I were out most of the time, left early in the morning and back again at midnight. So what we really need was just a place to sleep and nothing fancy. Thats why we have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acharacle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

The bed linen and towels were immaculate. The Receptionist was friendly and helpful and the location is excellent.

However; there were short curly hairs in the sink, toe nail cuttings on the carpet and no hot water.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

geordie on tour
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

once again my wife and i had another brilliant Two Nights in Glasgow on Wednesday 6th Feb & Thursday 7 Feb. This Time we stayed at the St Enoch Budget Hotel On Howard Street.in room 28 on the second floor a nice little hotel with Cheap Rooms £50 For the two night in a superior Double room with plenty of tea & coffee and biscuits in the room bed was comfy also free view tv. en suite shower room and a nice little touch of a breakfast goody bag left outside bedroom door on a morning containing a bowl, spoon, box of cerial, small bottle of milk and a Carton of juice. for the price what you see is what you get. no real frills but was quiet and comfy east check in and out. only five minutes from Central Station and Next door to St Enochs Shopping centre and city centre.and as always the People of glasgow where very friendly.

Room Tip: we booked through late rooms which was cheaper than some others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dixonj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#77 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#87 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Enoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Enoch Hotel

Property: St. Enoch Hotel
Address: St. Enoch Square 44 Howard Street, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — St. Enoch Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. Enoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Enoch Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing