We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phone Environmental Health”
Review of St. Enoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Enoch Hotel
Ranked #95 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Phone Environmental Health”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

After already having one of our hotels cancelled because we are 'ENGLISH', we got accommodated into this s**t hole of a place. £85 pounds for 1 night and to be greeted by 3 bunkbeds, a dirty razor in the bathroom, wet towels on the floor and some awful stains!!!! This hotel or should i say 'HOSTEL' has been built on a slant. The staff moved our belongings in the night whilst we where out, we where met by alcoholics and drug addicts on the stairs, our room stunk! I wouldn't wish my worst enemy to stay here! I would strongly advise English people to stay away from Glasgow and this hotel. We were ripped off from the moment we crossed the border. We were assured that this hotel had just been refurbished but i doubt it, the reception staff where kind and helpful but isn't that what you expect anyway? I was itchy all night and unsettled as you could hear fighting, rioting and buses going past through out the night. We were falsely told we where staying in a 'double executive suite' the only double that was going on would be if you doubled the two of us so that four other people could sleep in the room! I didn't even know it had a bathroom in the room until the morning of check out because the bunkbeds where pushed that far up against the door. This place needs shutting down and do not fall for anyone who tells you it is basic at a budget. I'd rather sleep outside on the pavement with the rats rather than stay here again. A rip off for 1 night, disgusting i wouldn't even give it a rating it was that bad. Do not be ripped off and do not take anyone's word in Glasgow. Completely baffled at how this place is still open to tourists.

Room Tip: do not choose any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rf123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    57
    90
    62
    144
See reviews for
30
88
60
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Going to Robbie Williams concert 26.06.13, left til last minute to book hotel. MISTAKE !!
This is a budget hotel, yes.... but instead of the usual £29 a night, I paid £120.......
I am not going to rant on and on, just look at my pictures and decide for yourself. OH... Breakfast... Upon leaving in the morning I found a brown bag at the door with A small box of cornflakes and a carton of orange juice !!!

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane1965Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Paid £72 to stay at Queens Park hotel and was shafted to this youth hostel. The smell was horrible, you could hear absolutely everything going on inside and outside the hotel. Never felt so unhappy and disgusted at a hotel and its rooms standards! Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

considering i paid 120 pounds for the room for 1 night. i expected a modicum of style and class. my room is not only next to a bus lane it is above a kebab shop. since about 1900 the smell of kebab has been wafting through the window (when closed) and because the window is closed the room has heated up to unbearable temperatures. honestly the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. never felt physically sick in a hotel before.

Room Tip: ask for any room that doesnt face onto howard street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamjr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here for a cheap weekend away. Cost £40 per night for a couple (Actually we had a family room that would have suited 4) and to be honest it was very good value.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room could have maybe done with a decorate and the bathroom was very small, but for the money and the location it was very good value.

No noise at night (As I had been told to expect) and the hotel is located right in the city centre with easy access to the train stations.

No complaints at all. It was a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Budget hotel, did the job granted the room needed a good dusting but for £35 for 2 people you cant complain.

Staff was friendly, free wifi, Freeview TV , Very Central location.

I was there on a budget and it did everything I needed.

I would stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back away from the walk through doors as they slam shut
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkM1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Worst place I have ever been
As a keen traveler I have stayed in many basic places but this was beyond basic, absolutely filthy,had to go to Tesco across the road to get cleaning products.The room smelt, dirty cups, walls were yellow and carpet was filthy..
for £57.00 I don't expect much but this is a joke place should be shut down.

I went and stayed with friends in another hotel for the evening what was cheaper and comes under a budget hotel.and it was worlds apart.

Do not waste your money its not worth it or the stress.only good point about this place is the staff are friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 832sarahh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 95 in Glasgow
412 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
1,796 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#84 of 95 in Glasgow
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Enoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Enoch Hotel

Property: St. Enoch Hotel
Address: St. Enoch Square 44 Howard Street, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — St. Enoch Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Enoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Enoch Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing