We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a let down”
Review of Shezan

Shezan
Reserve with OpenTable
Shezan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #910 of 2,447 Restaurants in Glasgow
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a let down”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have been getting takeaways from Shezan for the last three years, and whilst the food is generally good (mains and sides are gorgeous, but the starters are a bit hit-and-miss), the service is seriously lacking. Our latest experience involved being told that our food would be ready for collection in 30minutes. This sounds more than reasonable, but it took almost 1hour and 30minutes. This meant we turned up to collect and then waited almost one hour to get our food. The explanation was that there was a staffing issue. This is fine, but just be honest with us from the off-set, and make sure that people who order well after us (by an hour) don't get their food (a much bigger order) before us. Also, say sorry for the inconvenience. I would also suggest that you give some sort of financial recompense to people who you inconvenience in future. Or even just offer them a drink while they wait (everyone else seemed to get one).

The long and short of it is that the food is good, but there are other establishments whose food is as nice/nicer, and whose service is far superior.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
crabbitbat
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Somewhere to shelter from the rain but don't expect any food!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It has been some time since I have eaten at the Shezan and as I remember it the food was not bad, so as we were passing I suggested, as change from our usual Indian restaurant we get a takeaway from there tonight.
We ordered at 5.50 and at 6.20 we were still waiting, when we asked what was happening about our order we were told it would be coming soon, no food had appeared by 6.30 so we asked once again how much longer our order would be and were assured it would be soon, by 6.45 overcome by hunger we decided to give up and get our money back this was finally returned to us with no apology and the feeble explanation that they were busy that night,(there were 3 staff on in the restaurant and two tables totaling 6 customers in all). i would suggest if you want to keep out of the rain while waiting for a bus this is the very place to go, if you want a decent takeaway served in a reasonable time go to the Ali Shan round the corner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crabbitbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Glasgow's Best Kept Curry Secret”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It has been 2 years since we last visited the Shezan Tandoori on Cathcart Road in Mount Florida, and this visit was not to be a disappointment.
From the moment we entered, Nomi the owner recognised both my wife and i; despite the 2 year hiatus and welcomed us like long lost family members.
The food in the Shezan is to die for, from the classic old favourites like Boona and Dopiaza to the new Desi( home style) Indian food; the Shezan does them all.
All cooked fresh when you order and no reheats!
A meal for 4 with plenty of wine, beer, soft drinks, and coffee came with tip to £80, a bargain for what we got.
Shezan is an independently owned and run Indian restaurant in Glasgow's Southside, which is a rare commodity, in the town that nearly every Indian is run by the awful Harlequin group!
It has had a major face-lift since our last visit and looks really smart and modern, it was good to see some of the old staff still working there and of course Nomi the owner.
We could not believe it had been 2 years since our last visit, one thing is certain it won't be 2 years until our next.
Do your taste-buds and your wallet a favour and book a table at the Shezan.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
17 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Waited 40 mins for a takeaway!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Just waited 40 mins for a takeaway without an apology. Just moved to the area and had eaten out there midweek so thought it would be my new favourite but the service tonight was atrocious. We were told 15 to 20 mins but waited 40 and had to go and ask the server. Not good doubt ill go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiaora9974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This place looks more like a café. When we arrived we were sat next to the fish tank. It was a tight squeeze. We were given a menu which we chose food from as you do, but the menu was outdated and what we had chosen was unavailable. We were given a takeaway menu, classy!
The onion bhaji starter was ok, bit too much flour and was quite heavy. The main was a lamb tandoori and wasn't great. Lamb was too thick and therefore quite chewy. I asked the waiter for a glass of water and waited 30 minutes before having to ask the old guy who poured water into my half full glass of lemonade thus making it taste like water with soluble paracetamol in it. We finished up 1 hour and 40 minutes after arriving, with the main course half eaten. I wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shezan also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Shezan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing