We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”
Review of Charcoals

Charcoals
Reserve with OpenTable
Charcoals is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Dropped into Charcoals on Friday evening, we had no booking but we were found a table after a short wait. Quickly presented with drinks and menus and lovely crisp poppadoms. Finally decided on lamb chops which were delivered on a sizzling platter accompanied by a rich tangy sauce. The food and service was excellent at a very reasonable cost. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,852
    415
    127
    50
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absulotely Brilliant”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family and I went to charcoals for our lunch today and it was lovely - best restaurant I've been to in a while. The service was fantastic, the starte took about 10 minutes to come out and once we were finished our dinner was there straight away. The waiters couldn't have been more helpful as they always had a smile on there face and asked a couple of times if you needed anything. The food was beautiful - I myself had the Chicken South Indian Chilli curry which was amazing, it was quite spicy but it was beautiful. My parents thoroughly enjoyed their chicken bhoona also. The price was very good as there was three of us and I would definetly go there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyt9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We vistited this restaurant for my sisters birthday. I booked on line and mentioned it was her birthday and they really made a fuss of us. The broad of 7 were well catered for. The food is gorgeous, Indian food isn't really my thing, but it is now - I've obviously been eating in the wrong restaurants! The chicken boona was fantastic and everyone agreed that this is now their favourite dining place. No, its not fancy, but the food is superb, the staff are excellent and the price is spot on. Big shout out to Ali and his staff who made it a very memorable day! Ps loved the pictures of all the athelets you showed us who frequented your restaurant during the Games - shows how good your food is. And we will be back again, for sure.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPanda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Scotland”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As always the quality of food and service by Ali, the maitre'd, was outstanding. This restaurant is the choice of the stars for very good reason: top quality food and brilliant service all at a very reasonable price. I would never visit Glasgow without a trip to Charcloals!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were recommended to dine at Charcoals by the reception at the hotel we were staying at. The experience did not disappoint.

The service was excellent, servers always enquiring about our needs and meals bought promptly.

The samosa that we had for starter was a stand out, highly recommend. several of the other dishes were quite good as well.

Limited choice of wine, but the wine they served was very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charcoals also viewed

 

Been to Charcoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing