We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of Scotland.”
Review of Babbity Bowster

Babbity Bowster
Ranked #461 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$21
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little taste of Scotland.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Unpretentious bar, restaurant and hotel. Music evenings and relaxed atmosphere. Meals are usually excellent - and there is always Cullen Skink and Haggis with neeps and tatties if you want to try traditional Scottish dishes. Pleasant outdoor area - if it ever stops raining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank h0udinithegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    61
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Such a good night, thanks to great staff, atmosphere and food, but most of all the host Frazer Laurie, he is an institution, funny, knowledgeable, friendly. All the staff, without exception, were extremely professional, we were downstairs in the pub to eat as the restaurant was booked, but will definitely try upstairs next time we visit Glasgow.
We had Cullen Skink, the best, Seafood Chowder, fabulous, Pie of the Day, scrumptious, Haggis - not the best. Very reasonable prices for drinks too. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who seem very happy to be there.
We will be back for more laughs & great food..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great flavours-strange presentation”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We originally booked for the bar downstairs but when we arrived it was packed and roasting so we happily took the table upstairs in the restaurant. It isn't amazingly atmospheric but we weren't there to take in the scenery. The reputation of the food was the draw. Wonderful cullen skink, sumptuous duck, perfectly pink lamb and skilfully cooked scallops were all enjoyed by the table.The presentation however was a little odd and frankly a bit pedestrian which was odd considering the quality of the cooking. Again the presentation wasn't important but it does help to want to eat the food and a tweak or two wouldn't go wrong. Nevertheless a good night and a great meal.The bill didn't sting either.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bakingdaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Weird place”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The staff in this place are real weird and rude never have I come across a place where staff want to know every detail of your private life. I was real suspious of the questions asked of me as if I was a drug dealer or maybe they even thought I was a police officer but either way I dodged the personal question until I had to in my mind be direct. We had ordered the food otherwise we would just have left the grub was a bit ba ic and bland but edible, the drinks are expensive but overall the attitude of the staff let the place down.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just good food”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Excellent food at reasonable prices. Packed when I was there but they fitted me in with a smile even though they had large function parties. Great staff nothing too much trouble.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hornetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babbity Bowster also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Babbity Bowster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing