We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian in Glasgow”
Review of Ashoka - Southside

Ashoka - Southside
Ranked #307 of 2,427 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$52
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Curry devotees have been worshipping at the temple of Ashoka since the 80s. This, the chain���s Glasgow South Side branch, was created to appease folk from south of the river who loved the brand but hated the travel. Boasting an interior with a Last Days of the Raj meets style bar look, Ashoka has the kind of atmosphere which appeals more to bhuna babes than the middle aged ���lads��� on a rampage who frequent your average curry house. The interior may be pared down but the menu is packed with Indian favourites as well as house specialities, leaving even decisive diners with a difficult decision to make.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Glasgow”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Glasgow for being the so called curry capital of uk, certainly struggles to get anywhere near it in my book. Ashoka Southside on the other hand is head and shoulders above any other indian restaurant in Glasgow. The food is of excellent quality and the service first class.

We'll worth a trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulyinverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    89
    22
    8
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than any Indian meal in Copenhagen!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Thanks to an excellent suggestion by our waiter, Raj - chicken Dilruba, we had an excellent meal here. The service was friendly and good suggestions made for a delightful change of our usual standard choices. Warm and friendly atmosphere. Glad we booked a table as Saturday night is busy and it's not a large place. We will definitely come back and we'll be looking for Raj to give us new suggestions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashappy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Saturday night meal”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just had a "5pm.co.uk" meal with the in-laws at Ashoka Southside, and can have no complaints whatsoever. Food was top notch, and the lamb was very tender. Raj was a fantastic host, very attentive, and recommended the new fish pakora for startes which was delicious. We will definitely be returning again soon! Gareth, Jenni and the family.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great restaurant EXCELLENT service”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Amazing service amazing food, Heera was the waiter the whole night start to finish. This was our 2nd time in the restaurant after a long time but we will definitely be back because of him and it would be a pleasure if he could be our personal waiter :) only downfall was the mens toilet a bit of a queue but other than that absolutely fantastic thanks Heera


Karl and Judy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First of many visits to come!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great little restaurant with a great atmosphere, excellent food and friendly staff. Service from our waiter Raj was fantastic, and although it was our first visit we will definitely be returning!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weesuz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashoka - Southside also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ashoka - Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing