We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Di Maggio's - South Side
Ranked #893 of 2,427 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: US$26 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on Pollockshaws Road at Shawlands Cross, our Shawlands restaurant was established in 1985. 25 years on it continues to serve Glasgow’s South Side community, providing home-cooked Italian cuisine in a family-friendly atmosphere that everyone can enjoy. Dining is a relaxed affair and like all Di Maggio’s restaurants, the Shawlands branch is very family-friendly with colouring sheets and games for the kids. The full Di Maggio’s Italian menu is on offer alongside great value lunch and pre-theatre deals and there is also a full carry-out and delivery service available. Di Maggio’s Shawlands is in the perfect location for a quick bite before a concert or match at Hampden Park. Book early to avoid disappointment!
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great place what you would expect for a big name like Di Maggio's, would like a bit more of a personal experience but the place was busy at the time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    24
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brutal”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Short and simple. .........do not eat here. The food is terrible and the manager is a joke. Only positive was the waitress

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

DiMaggios in shawlands is a favourite of mine. I have eaten there many times and have always enjoyed it. I like the south side of Glasgow nice park's and good places to eat. Love DiMaggio s menus and there pizzas are very tasty. Big thumbs up.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1193al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant service for last minute Group Booking”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We made a very late booking for 31 of us, half kids. Gordon took our requests on, we placed our order two days beforehand, as we were very short of time. Were to be in, fed and out within an hour. We ended up arriving a little early, but the tables were all ready for us, and every one of us had our drinks and meal in front of us by the requested time of 4.30, with no errors on the order. Everyone enjoyed their meal , not one complaint. Food was great, and the service was second to none. Thanks for making what turned out to be a very long day, enjoyable with our meal break!
Karen Smith

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Di M, Social Media Manager at Di Maggio's - South Side, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your review. We're glad to hear that your group all had a good time in the restaurant and that we were able to break up your long day with some tasty food! We hope you chose to visit us again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
“Regular customers”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Disappointing. Set meal. Stuffed mushrooms were very poor. Bread crumb batter was rock solid (suspect a re-heat) and when starter first arrived it was cold. Standard of the garlic bread has dropped. The mains were only ok. Overall a disappointing experience. Last couple of visits have been disappointing. Standards dropping.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Di Maggio's - South Side also viewed

 

Been to Di Maggio's - South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing