We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy wee place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Fat Ladies City Centre

Two Fat Ladies City Centre
Ranked #63 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy wee place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Totally blown away by this place! Was a bit apprehensive at first as not a huge lover of fish but they had a chicken dish on which was tasty as any I've eaten. Potatoes on the side veg very nice

The seating layout makes for a very intimate atmosphere so congrats to the architect!

Service was friendly and efficient on a busy night

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    243
    64
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mixed and Average Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Midweek visit, nice staff, relaxed atmosphere, slightly tight for space, toilets cramped and disconcerting near open stacks of vegetables. Starters on the mean side (£9.95 for three queen scallops, half a slice of black pudding and a smear of apple sauce and £7.75 for a very ordinary smoked mackerel pate), mains of salmon and fillet of beef were lovely. Sweets were just okay. Glasgow has a number of nice dining choices these days and I would say this restaurant is in need of an update and needs to up it's game.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balfron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fantastic food and very attentive staff
Table we had was long and a bit awkward to get in and out but didn't spoil our enjoyment

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice dinner in Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went to Glasgow for a day trip from Edinburgh. We had dinner at Two Fat Ladies (city center on Blythswood St.). The food was very good. Service was prompt, professional, and friendly. Atmosphere was nice and not too loud. Easy to hold conversation. All told, very nice choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wow! Can't Stop Raving About This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wow, just wow! What an amazing meal I had at this restaurant. The food was absolutely excellent - best cullen skink I have ever tasted in my life. You could taste how fresh the ingredients were. I had chicken with haggis for main and again exquisite quality and taste. Can I also recommend the sticky toffee pudding - seriously tasty, I stole some from my mum and instantly regretted not having 3 courses. The service was second to none and we were asked several times if we wanted more bread - a tiny detail that I personally judge a restaurant on. The waiting staff were friendly, warm and could not do more for us. Whoever trained them has done a fab job. At £16 for 2 courses with wine, I am astonished at the value. We will be back soon! Already recommended it and was only there yesterday! Well done on this fabulous little restaurant. Loved every second. Now desperate to try others in the 'Two Fat Ladies' group.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louvic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Fat Ladies City Centre also viewed

 

Been to Two Fat Ladies City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing