We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent All Round” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
fife
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Blythswood Square is the first hotel I have stayed at where every expectation was exceeded. From the beauty and quality of surroundings to the opulent spa facilities the hotel was luxury all the way.
The room was spotless, the bed amazing the right balance of soft and firm (without having to use the pillow menu (yes you heard right - they offer a pillow menu)). The room had lots of informational materials and we were given a guided tour of the room and how to navigate all the technology (great service). The spa was exceptional - again the young chap in the spa room gave us a guided tour of how to get the best out of our time there - useful for us.
I have never experienced such attentive staff - each and every one polite, friendly and professional. A special mention has to go to the cocktail bar manager Scott and his assistant Martin for not only providing us with the best cocktails we have had but also going the extra mile to make our stay special.
I have an intolerance to gluten and was offered gluten free bread in the dining room as well as a specially made dish - although most of their food was gluten free anyway.
A two day break has left us feeling like we have had a holiday. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had room 328 - no view but none needed - spacious and luxurious (and close to the lift which took...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family4Fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    573
    208
    53
    26
See reviews for
232
1,380
75
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was my second visit to this hotel and without a shadow of a doubt this hotel is the best if not in the top three hotels in central Glasgow.

It's most redeeming feature is its staff. And of course, that is the way it should be! They are helpful, accommodating and all of an approachable "sexiness" about them, and they make you feel good when you're check in.

The bed / bathroom sliding parition works very well and opens up the room. This time my room face W. George Street, so I had ample natural daylight. On my last stay I had a Courtyard view, which is great if you want to sleep and have minimal noise.

This hotel is so-close to five stars, but the thing that spoils the experience is technology. In my mind technology is working when you don't see it. I was hampered with a few tech glitches. On check in, I was not issued with a swipe card (tech "on the blink") and while promised, a replacement was not delivered. I expect one to be delivered, even shoved under the door... not told to come down later. This is not a fault of the front desk staff, but they should abandon trendy tech for something that works... issuing a card key is basic req for a hotel.

Athough it has gotten better.The bedroom's tech is also still a bind. Hard tech in that the Samsung TVs take ages to come on and you peck the remote, which sends the system into spasms and in terms of soft tech...the drainage in the bathroom sink is weird. Looks good, but is a bit annoying,

All that aside, this is an AMAZING PROPERTY and I am picking nits. The food in the restaurant and also room service is great Scottish fayre and delivered on time.

The think though that makes this hotel so memorable is the team working on front desk, concierge, room service and housekeeping. Friendly, banterish and not robotic!

See you next time!

Room Tip: Outer facing for daylight. Courtyard for those wanting to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunofSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary last night. Everything was just as you would expect from a hotel of this standard, except the bed. Our bed appeared to be a king size double but only when we went to bed in the early hours after an energetic night out did we discover that it was in fact 2 singles pushed together that kept drifting apart during the night, resulting in you waking up in the crack. Very disappointing. Also not as nicely furnished or finished as our favourite hotel, Hotel Du Vin at 1 Devonshire Gardens.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This was one of the best city centre hotels we have ever stayed in. Staff were charming and helpful and the room which was described as a "cosy double" was in fact a great deal more spacious than we expected with a lovely bathroom and double glazing good enough to shut out all traffic noise. The bed was large and very comfortable. We were able to get on-street parking right outside the door and there were plenty spaces available - it was expensive but couldn't have been more convenient.
When we saw the restaurant menu we thought it looked very expensive but the food was excellent and worth the money. We will definitely be booking here again when we are back in Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthshireClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times now. Blythswood Square is within easy walking distance of the city centre, but is far enough out that you do not get the noise or traffic that some of the other city centre hotels get. The rooms are first rate with quality beds, TV, and bathrooms. The spa area is a great place to relax with friends and the bar is spacious and has a great atmosphere at night. The restaurant is elegant and the food is good quality. The staff are helpful with just the right level of banter. Look out for the valet parking at £26, but to be honest local parking is not much cheaper. You won't regret staying here - by far the best hotel in Glasgow.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DokEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Arran
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Last minute reservation but as always a wonderful stay. Fabulous room, very well appointed. Bathroom divine. We ate out at night but breakfast was perfect. We left our luggage to do some shopping which was not a problem. Will be back soon

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed at the Blythswood Square on Easter Sunday, on arrival, even although early were given access to our room which was absolutely beautiful and this was just the "Classic Room" which I think is a standard room. Staff were very professional and accomodating in attending to our needs and managed to get us a table in the restaurant even although it was very busy. Meal was lovely and great value for money as we had the "Boozy Snoozy" offer which was a meal for 4 from the Market Menu and a bottle of prosecco for £80. Could not fault the meal or the service. They then reserved us a table in the Salon (Cocktail Bar) and again the staff were lovely. We made use of the Spa on Sunday evening and again on Monday morning, was very enjoyable and relaxing. I would definitely recommend to my friends and other travellers if you want to be very spoilt. Loved every minute.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing