We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly 5 star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Truly 5 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Took my girlfriend to the Blythswood hotel as part of her Christmas. Went on the 27th through to the 29th and we both loved it. Whether its the staff, the rooms, the thermal experience, the treatments, the food, the cocktails, everything was five star. We couldn't complain about a thing. Great way to finish a great year together.

Room Tip: We got a room overlooking the the square which was gorgeous. Advise you upgrade to a deluxe room or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty081286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    573
    208
    53
    26
See reviews for
232
1,380
75
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at The Blythswood for Hogmanay, and the levels of service and quality of food were outstanding. Perfect steaks, despite a very full Restaurant. The general ambience completely relaxed us, and our room was terrific, including the nice little touch of leaving us with a Hogmanay platter of little gifts for the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a brilliant location. Excellent service, very stylish, rooms and bathroom in the classics are very nice. Ive stayed in a lot of 4 or 5 star hotel but loved how this hotel manages to be high quality but still quite relaxed. And the spa is brilliant, we went before our dinner in the restaurant, it was the perfect way to relax into the weekend. Don't think twice about staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCWEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I have been lucky enough to be able to stay in quite a few 5 star hotels over the years but this one blows me away every time I return.
From the minute you walk through the door, your shoulders seem to lower a few inches as you start to relax. The Blythswood not only has the things that you would expect of a 5 star hotel - amazing rooms, comfortable beds, fantastic food, beautiful spa, but it has also paid soooo much attention to detail from the way each area of the hotel is lit to make you feel relaxed (in the spa you feel like you are swimming in candle light - so beautiful), to the on-point- no problem too big- attitude of the staff to the little details in your room (just love the Johnstons of Elgin throws).
Every minute spent at this hotel is money well spent and I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel in December for a Christmas night out, to be brief, lovely hotel, lovely staff.
Dropped an earring getting ready and when looking for it found a worn/ soiled 'pop sock'
Told the receptionist on way out of hotel, she was suitably appalled and said Housekeeping would deal immediately.
I had night out and on return the offending item still there.
I pointed this out again on way to breakfast and after eating and returning to room....still there...Disgusting.
Regardless of hygiene element the act it was pointed out twice and nothing done made me mad.
Lovely building, nice rooms although cleaning of poor standard if rogue items slip through quality check.
Put me off returning.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stay here on business and have to say its a fantastic hotel. Chic entrance and amazing decor which then extends into the rooms - which are well designed, exceptionally comfortable beds and luxury bathrooms. Breakfast excellent and a good place to entertain clients in the evening. Restaurant meals also good and staff very friendly.

Downsides are the size of the room (which are small compared to other hotels in the city), confusing room layout, and lack of view from the windows. But these are fairly minor - and certainly wouldnt consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalyncarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

It felt like we had escaped from reality for a couple of days staying at Blythswood Square. Our room was incredible looking out on to the square, absolute luxury and incredibly clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and offered a great nights sleep. Following cocktails in the bar (an amazing choice) we dined in the restaurant. The quality and presentation of the food was second to none, opted for the creme brulee two nights in a row as it was so delicious, a real treat.
The spa was equally perfect, we didn't want to leave. Above all the customer service and staff were excellent and a credit to the hotel. A return visit is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing