We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, classy hotel.”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice, classy hotel.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. It's in a renovated old mansion that was once home to the Scottish Royal Automobile club. Location is perfect and everything is walkable, that's if it's not raining! The rooms are comfy and clean. Food was very good. Service was excellent. We will stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lizzyloopy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,708
    588
    213
    55
    26
See reviews for
244
1,418
75
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mcflyno1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were given a voucher for the square as a wedding present and decided to upgrade so that we could have use of the spa, a meal, overnight stay and breakfast. From the moment we checked in till checking out, the Blytheswood did not disappoint. I can honestly say that this is the most luxurious place I have ever stayed.
The room was huge and had everything you could ever want. King size bed, couch facing the TV, fridge with many a delight in the mini bar, and the bathroom was also huge with separate shower and a walk in bath.
We used the spa and again the experience was incredible. The pools, Jacuzzi, sauna steam room were all exceptional. The staff were welcoming and very friendly; and nothing was ever too much trouble.
Dinner was also great with service you can only expect form a 5* restaurant. Ours was a set menu but the food was still great. The choice at breakfast was unbelievable with everything you could ever with for.
We had a night in the upstairs cocktail bar and again the place outdid itself. My wife and I aren’t familiar with cocktails and the like but the staff were extremely knowledgeable, guiding us through the menu selecting drinks that we would and wouldn’t like. This is obviously a sign of exceptional training.
As this was a one off for us it is hard to put a price on its value. However the whole experience was great. When I asked what time breakfast was on till, the receptionist said 10am however if we were late not to worry about it. He also said that if we were late to check out that wouldn’t be a problem either. This gave us the confidence to relax and chill out and is something you wouldn’t get from the chain hotels.
All in a great experience and something I would love to do again.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a streetview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcflyno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Had two nights stay last week. Have stayed twice before in rooms in the old part. This time had two rooms in the new part. What a difference!! Our room was overlooking the court-yard. Very dark and dingy even when bright sunlight outside!! Also small and pokey. Complete contrast to the older rooms, what a shame. Meal in restaurent was very good, but had to wait far too long in the bar for service- in fact had to go to the bar to place our order and then wait and wait.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband, a friend and I had lunch at Blythswood Square today courtesy of Itison vouchers. This was our first visit and we will definitely be back. We had a lovely lunch, very attentive service from a lovely young lady. The food was beautifully presented, the portions weren't huge but just right for a lunch time meal. We had vouchers for a 2-course meal, but ordered a third course for my husband and then had 3 coffees. When I asked for the bill (for the extra pudding and the three coffees) were told that there was no charge as I had submitted 2 vouchers which were for 4 people but there were only 3 of us. I did wonder if any mention would be made of this during our visit so it was very pleasing for notice to be taken of that without any mention from me. Such was our enjoyment of the food, service and ambience, we would have been happy to pay more. Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Careen186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed over night and it was first class all round. The staff, accommodation and food was excellent as were the cocktails especially the Black Pearl. Can't recommend it highly enough and we got a very good deal so it proved very good value for money.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, we had a wonderful stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly and could not do any more for us. Our room was lovely, with the most comfy bed I've slept in whilst staying in a hotel - it was fab! The spa is so relaxing and definitely worth a visit. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing