We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel yet”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best hotel yet”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for one night in September as a wee treat to ourselves, and enjoyed every second of our stay. Amazingly comfy bed with lovely linen and the best pillows I have ever had, and the decor made it feel very luxurious. I know what other reviewers are saying about lack of daylight, which I would agree with, but for us this isnt a problem. We are out most of the day and on return to the hotel just want to relax. We were annoyed to forget appropriate attire for using the pool etc. which looked just lovely, we will make sure we make use of it next time.
We had a couple of cockails in the bar at night, and they were some of the best I have had, lots of care and attention taken to make, and it was worth the effort. Top of the range spirits used which always makes a great drink.
The breakfast options were endless and of the highest quality, we sampled some of the continental option and then had a hot option, all of which we could not fault, delicious.
This overnighter was a treat, and it certainly felt that way. The staff on check in were fast and friendly and our luggage was taken to the room for us. The service was excellent but friendly and not snooty like some other 5 star establishments we have stayed at, where service has been too staged, and uncomfortable. The perfect balance.
My favourite part had the be the ridiculously comfy bed and the rainfall shower with nice toiletries. We will be back again I am sure.

Room Tip: We had a room classified as a wee classic room and it was more than adequate for us, the view wasnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    588
    214
    56
    26
See reviews for
246
1,421
75
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night & decided to pay extra for a deluxe room. It was beautiful & huge! Looked directly onto the Blythswood Square. Luxurious furnishings including a beautiful cashmere throw on the bed.
Didn't eat dinner here as we were attending a function elsewhere but we did enjoy spending time in the Salon cocktail bar before & after. Delicious cocktails. Lovely breakfast in the morning. All staff were professional & friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will definitely return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
361 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here

We arrived early and the reception desk / concierge were more than accommodating and took in our bags and popped them into our room for us. The restaurant and bar are lovely, the staff were great and the bed and sleep quality in our room were superb

The breakfast was very good, but had room for improvement (better croissants and warmer food temperature) - but i am being a bit over fussy here and would happily have breakfast there again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Excellent hotel in great location. Large Comfortable rooms and very comfortable bed. Checkin easy and swift, concierge very efficient. But most of all, all the staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Restaurant was excellent, lovely dinner and breakfasts. Spa was also great, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We only spent one night here, but we had the best night ever.
The concierge were amazing, epically Tom, they helped us with everything, nothing was too much for them.
The hotel is delightful and very elegant, our room was upgraded too, so big thanks guys. The spa was first class, one of the best I've been too.
We went to the salon bar at night and had a few cocktails, they were the best I've had. The breakfast was superb too. All the staff were fantastic and so helpful.
We can't wait for our next trip to this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lighting in rooms was too dim for reading. Good bed and bathroom. Good bedding.
Buffet breakfast for our 90-person group was dismal, compared to the regular breakfast in the general dining area. Group dinners were very good.
Very helpful staff....couldn't be better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erich0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great hotel in an ideal location. They always have excellent deals on so check the website.

The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and will go out of there way to assist you.

Breakfast is great with a huge selection to cater for everyone and although busy on all of my stays I have never had to wait for a table.
The Spa Thermal experience is also excellent and an added bonus.

My only criticism is the rooms are very dark especially the bathroom so finding somewhere to put on make up is a challenge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing