We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star staff”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
drancy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5 star staff”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent three nights in the hotel, the room was a wee classic, and very nice too, a very comforable bed. This is our second stay at the Blythswood, and again no complaints, the staff are so friendly and helpful, in the bar the restaurant and reception and in the lobby.
The staff in the spa are helpful and also very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, in a wee classic room, great big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    603
    219
    57
    30
See reviews for
256
1,458
76
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I visit Glasgow regularly for business and pleasure and have used many of its hotels. This is the second time I have stayed here and it is the best of the city centre lodgings. It has the most pleasant location and is very handy for some of Glasgow's better eateries. It is a lovely building. The staff are top class. The breakfast I had was very good indeed. The only downside that other reviewers noted is the fact that some of the rooms have a disappointing view but that is a small price to pay for staying at the hotel that currently sets the standard for downtown Glasgow. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Newtonbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We booked a stay to celebrate our anniversary. Managing to have a night away from our little toddler is quite the treat and our stay at Blythswood Square made it fantastic. The staff were incredibly friendly and easy to approach, the room had a fantastically comfortable bed, and the spa was relaxing. All in all we felt well looked after and would certainly return again. Probably the best hotel we have stayed at so far.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in 102 - nice and quiet with a view of the square and no fuss having to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TabWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here on my first visit to Glasgow. Hotel is well located on a hill near the center of the city. Staff was very pleasant and made us feel welcome - from the bellman to the receptionist to the concierge. They addressed my needs quickly and capably from securing a car transfer to getting me acclimated to my room.

My room was on the lower level was very clean and comfortable and well appointed, but it was really dark and had no view. It did feel a bit like I was in a cave but this was adequate for business travel.

Overall a fine stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baron palms,sharks bay,egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Nice quick check in!very nice welcoming to the hotel!Lovely clean room!Only one small thing that I did not like was you could hear the generator from outside the room.Good location for shopping.The spa was really nice aswell.Would I stay here again.Yes I would for sure!I would recommend this hotel!Enjoy:)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbone1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Room was lovely, nice bathroom & comfy bed. Spa is gorgeous, have visited a few times and always leave relaxed & refreshed. Restaurant really let the place down...we dined on Friday night - service pretty bad and food tasteless/dried out/no finesse which you would expect from a 5* establishment. £32 bottle of pinot noir was served too warm (even for fussy me who sends wine back for being too cold!!) it really ruined the taste. Breakfast spread was lovely....again the food ordered from the kitchen let it down! Would choose other hotels in the area over this and we regularly stay overnight in nice Glasgow boutique hotels. Disappointed overall.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elektrogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Due to the high cost of booking this hotel i would have expected better accommodation and service. On the first night we had to move room due to being located near the elevator which made a terrible noise and we didn't want disturbed when guests returned to their rooms. The rooms were pretty but there was some fraying around the edges and the bathroom you could see was only wiped over and not cleaned properly. The breakfast had a god selection however the tomatoes were tasteless and the food lukewarm..............would recommend spending more on good produce.
Overall stay was ok but due to cost i wouldnt return as think there are better hotels elsewhere in Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
710 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,127 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing