We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa day”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had the pleasure of using this fantastic spa at the blythswood hotel on blythswood square , the staff and facilities are absolutely first class, the treatments were amazing and I felt totally rejuvenated , however and this is my only gripe after our spa day myself and my wife retired to the bar for a well deserved refreshment , but for a hotel such as this , to wait 20 minutes for a vodka martini is absolutely ridiculous .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rbr4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,610 of 2,798 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Myself and my partner were enjoying our stay at the Blythswood until we dared to eat in the restaurant! Let me start with the good points...

Check-in was quick, smooth and friendly. Our room was gorgeous, bed very comfortable. The spa is amazing also, staff in there were lovely, and the thermal circuit was probably the nicest we have ever experienced.

Now, to the bad part, and sadly for us it was a massive one. We had the misfortune to be served by a very cold and rude woman, a manager, who didn't exactly make us feel welcome... we were prepared to overlook this however as sometimes people are stressed! But the final straw was overhearing her mocking us and other diners with her supervisor, thinking no one could hear. Disparaging comments about diners weight and personal appearances, some of which I would be breaching the T&C's of tripadvisor if I were to repeat! I might expect this kind of behaviour in McDonald's, but not in a 5* hotel.

I should add that the food was of good quality, it just didn't taste so nice when accompanied by the staff's vile diatribe. The waiting staff themselves were lovely, suprising seeing they are being set such a poor example!

Needless to see we will never be back. Thoroughly disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have a few issues with this 'luxury' hotel, alarm bells rang when I was told that despite being in residence I would have to pay extra to use the spa facilities! Rather than write a diatribe about my stay I will simply list my grievances:

Bags kindly taken from cab but dumped at reception until I carried them to my room, no offer to take them up
TV did not work and had to be fixed every time we wanted it use it
Heating inadequate, we used an electric fire left in the room
Cheap blind in the bathroom.
Terrible lighting - a matter of personal taste of course b
Room service food was cold and tasteless and on every occasion tray was minus condiments and seasoning/prawn and avocado dish came without avocado and poached eggs without toast
Spa would benefit from leaving details of booked treatments in the room

I really wanted to love this hotel but I'm sorry to say it fell short on so many issues, my friend and I had planned our trip for months and were really disappointed, most definitely style over substance and no evidence of efficient management

On a positive note the front line staff were very friendly and tried to resolve any issues.

Room Tip: Request front facing as the view of the square is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary because he was especially impressed with the spa on the web. We were not disappointed. The spa was very calming and relaxing. Our massage was bliss!! Loved our spa day.
The room was really clean, comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. We had free up to date films which was an additional bonus
Breakfast was included and could not be faulted
The hotel was in a good location for walking to the shops
Have no hesitations in recommending this luxury hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Located on one of the nicest squares of town, this hotel petfectly combines very modern interior in a classic building. Superior service, great room but rather small bathroom, however very well equipped and tasteful marble decor.
Very good food at the Grillroom. Very pleasant seating, very spacious area, very good service.
Great breakfast.
Oneof the finest city hotels we have ever stayed. Accordingly priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent three nights in the hotel, the room was a wee classic, and very nice too, a very comforable bed. This is our second stay at the Blythswood, and again no complaints, the staff are so friendly and helpful, in the bar the restaurant and reception and in the lobby.
The staff in the spa are helpful and also very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, in a wee classic room, great big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I visit Glasgow regularly for business and pleasure and have used many of its hotels. This is the second time I have stayed here and it is the best of the city centre lodgings. It has the most pleasant location and is very handy for some of Glasgow's better eateries. It is a lovely building. The staff are top class. The breakfast I had was very good indeed. The only downside that other reviewers noted is the fact that some of the rooms have a disappointing view but that is a small price to pay for staying at the hotel that currently sets the standard for downtown Glasgow. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Newtonbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
919 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,132 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,538 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £110 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing