We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous afternoon tea”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous afternoon tea”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Lovely location in Glasgow. We were made to feel special and shown to our table straight away. The staff were all very friendly and very efficient. Excellent choice on the three tier stands and one each which was a real surprise. Nice choice and variety of sandwiches and proper clotted cream for the scones.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChancerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    604
    220
    56
    29
See reviews for
257
1,451
76
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our recent visit to the Blythswood Square Hotel was just perfect.

Simple as that, great location, facilities, staff, wonderful accommodation.

What more do you need to enjoy yourself ! the recipe is simple :-)

If you cant enjoy yourself here you had better just stay home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattoScozzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

People obviously eat really early in Glasgow. Booked a table for 8:30 or 9:00 which would be a perfectly reasonable time to start a meal in London, Edinburgh or New York, by the end of the main course we were the only people left in the restaurant although there was a very boisterous party going on in the adjacent private dining area. At this point the service became rather slow (actually that's putting it mildly).

A obviously new member of staff was tried to hurry us out. To be fair on seeing this one of her colleagues was clearly horrified and made it clear we will welcome to stay as long as we wished.

Service on arrival had been excellent as it was until the restaurant started to empty. If restaurants don't want late diners, the really shouldn't take late reservations but then I wouldn't call 9 PM late. The food itself was exceptional and I think I would keep their again although I'd probably make sure to book and early table in future so as to not inconvenience the staff. Also enjoyed an excellent cocktail on the first floor afterwards.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ianx1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We were offerd a standard room that came with a surround system that was broken and were told nothing could be done,which was ok as we don't need it. Then we were told we can get music in the bathroom which also did not work, again not a problem as we didn't need to use it. Then we tried to use the shower and bath which did not work and we were asked to use the spa to shower as a "quick fix" while they would try to get a plumber. UNBELIEVABLE! U pay for a 5 star service and get no star service. SAVE YOUR MONEY REALLY NOT WORTH IT AT ALL!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank eyecyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnie
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Enjoying a birthday gift
An Afternoon tea for two
First impression on approach to the hotel was excellent
Only to have the inside door opened and greeted with Hi Ya by the door man
We didn't think this was becoming of a hotel of this class.
It is nice to be greeted but in the proper way .
When arriving in the Salon it was as expected staff made you welcome took our coats
Then directed us to our table .
Cakes and scones very good
Sandwiches far to small specially if you had to pay full cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I cannot review the hotel itself as I visited The Salon only. However, my experience was lovely! My daughter-in-law took me there today for a surprise afternoon tea. The hotel overlooks the beautiful square and we were a bit worried about the entrance steps, as we were accompanied by my 3 month old grandson. A staff member dashed out and took the pram inside for us, then directed us to the lift. At The Salon entrance another young man opened the doors to get junior's chariot through. The room is split with the bar at one side and the quieter lounge at the other. We were seated in the lounge and a waiter explained what was on the Duchess of Bedford afternoon tea menu. Minutes later it was served and we weren't disappointed. The little cakes, scones and sandwiches were all delicious and served on the traditional 3 tier stand - what a treat! We were offered top ups on the tea and felt so comfortable in the beautifully appointed room. I would recommend the afternoon tea for a special treat in such a lovely setting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I would highly recommend this if you need somewhere to stay in Glasgow city centre as the rooms are well appointed and the food good. The location gives easy access to the main shopping streets and art galleries/museums either on foot or by public transport/taxi. More importantly, I found all the hotel staff both efficient and more than willing to go the extra mile to be helpful.

Certainly not the cheapest but I think good value (particularly the Spa!) and they often have special offers - worth checking out...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
671 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,090 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#41 of 95 in Glasgow
3,862 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing