We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel, great service & great location”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We loved this hotel and will stay again the next time we are in Glasgow.

Highly recommended if you prefer higher end luxury hotels.

The interior is a fantastic blend of historic, classical and modern. The hotel restaurant has fantastic food and a very progressive menu for a Scottish restaurant, while maintaining some of the key local ingredients you want to experience while traveling.

The whisky selection is also very good, and the bartender was helpful picking out lesser known whiskeys.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is NOT on the first floor, as there is a bit of traffic at street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbennettbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,494 - 1,500 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the friendliest hotel staff I've ever come across. We stayed in a classic room which was a great size with a large bathroom. Breakfast, as always, was outstanding.
I would particularly like to mention one staff member, Liam, who works in the main restaurant. He shows an excellent knowledge of food and drink as well as impeccable customer service. If you come across him you'll be in good hands!
This was our second stay at The Blythswood and it won't be our last.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank girlsloveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was their with my work colleagues for pre Christmas dinner drinks. We were welcomed in, taken to a table, given menus, introduced to our waiter and our drinks order taken pleasantly and promptly. Our coats were also taken and when we left to go for dinner they offered to call us a taxi. Everyone was just lovely , not in your face but just spot on. Would recommend for drinks and/or dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairedwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hard to know what to add to some of the previous reviews. Everyone will have a different perspective/experience.

My own view is that the hotel is torn between aiming for the older guests ie like me who expect a 5 star hotel to be oozing class in all aspects or aiming for the young trendy people with money to spend. I think the hotel tries to cater for all but falls short. Maybe the task is just not possible!

Our room was excellent (clearly we were either lucky based on other reviews or maybe because we were there for a week we were placed where we were). The food and service were generally first class apart from the service from the breakfast staff which was very poor and bore no relation to the high quality service in the restaurant at other times. Incidentally we recently travelled to Madrid and stayed in a lower starred hotel where the options for breakfast were far superior.

Personally I object to staff addressing my wife and I by our first names without invitation to do so but maybe I'm just old fashioned in this ?

Staff quality was uneven with some being top notch but others more befitting a 3 star establishment. Some staff training or perhaps better quality management needed here.

I'm being picky but a 5 star hotel charging high prices for good, drink and accommodation needs to be spot on.

Having said all this would have no hesitation in returning but would know exactly what to expect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garyabraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having read some of the previous negative reviews ( every one is entitiled to their opinion..?) I was a "little apprehensive" about our choice of hotel for celebrating our wedding anniversary. But upon arriving, all our fears were swiftly and comprehensively diminished by the staff that we encountered from start to finish ..

Upon our arrival at the hotel entrance, we were cheerfully greated and assisted by the concierge staff who helped both my wife and myself into the hotel lobby out of the rain, and straight up to the reception staff who were also equally pleasant and welcoming, and who had us taken up to our room and settled in with as little fuss as possible..

The room we had was on the Fifth floor 408, and was facing into the inner court yard, it was "bright and modern, with a very high standard of fixture and fittings" and came with a fully stocked mini bar,and also a kettle and sundries to have a nice cup of tea with..

We did not dine in the hotel, but had breakfast which was cooked to order and was lovely,,and promptly despatched to you at your table in no time at all .

Previous reviews have complained about the price of the spa, I found the whole experience very resonable and it allowed you to escape away from the pressures of every day life,,.

In summary, we had a wonderful time in a lovely hotel, in equally lovely surroundings, and would not hesitate to return or recommend to you, to also to consider staying for your own special occassion.

Room Tip: "Consider requesting a room on the fourth floor facing into the court yard..."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Why does a posh hotel like this buy in the worst tasting lager on the planet.
Got a pint of this so called brew and a glass of wine..£15 they charged me
.but they get away with it again and again.
Glasgow has hundreds of hotels and we chose this one to have dinner,bed and breakfast.
Parking was expensive £27 pounds for twenty four hours,a bit steep

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you want to eat or drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daviefreescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in the hotel on Christmas night as a treat to ourselves and to distress from the day. Check in was quick and very attentive, got to our room and its was pretty much the same as previous visits except for some reason this time the room look slightly tired!! For example the sliding door into the toilet the handle was broke just silly little things like this!!

We decided to stay in the hotel for drinks so we went to the 1st floor bar the staff where excellent, very attentive and very helpful, so a very relaxed night was had.

The next morning we head down for breakfast which we where seated to almost immediately we where asked for our tea/coffee and order which we gave. We then waited for over 20 minutes when we eventually had to stop a waitress and enquire to the where abouts of the above then ask her to take our breakfast order. 5 mins later we eventually got our tea and toast and then a further 10-15 mins later we got our breakfast. While eating our breakfast we requested another pot of tea and yes it did take over 20 mins to come!!

As much as these are minor little things they will not be stopping us from going back but I will make sure I do not go down for breakfast when I'm extremely hungry!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
829 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,346 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £122 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing