We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sign of good service is how issues are dealt with.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The sign of good service is how issues are dealt with.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have stayed in the hotel 3 or 4 times before so knew exactly what to expect in staying at the Blythswood. I did debate on booking whether to book a classic or wee classic however give the amazing bath in the classic I opted for that room.

We arrived and were give a room on the floor below reception (room 110) which looked very nice. We went to park the car and return to the room however within a few minutes back in the room we could feel how humid the room was. I am not sure if it is because it is so close to the spa but it was very unpleasant. I think this is how it normally is as the floor in this room had no carpet, instead having laminate on the floor. I called reception to explain that we couldn't stay in the room. I explained that my partner has had a collapsed lung in the past and could feel it in his breathing and could we be moved. It wasn't a problem and the concierge (Ian) was sent over with a new room key to move us. We were moved to 361 however it was clear when we arrived that this wasn't a classic, but instead a wee classic. This was apparent in the size of room and the smaller bath.

I need to mention Ian again, he was excellent. Very friendly, professional and a credit to the hotel.

I again phoned reception to say that this wasn't a classic room. I was advised that it was and that all the classic rooms are different sizes due to the older nature of the building. We were however moved again by Ian to 307 which was exactly what I expected. The classic rooms are of a great size with a nice big bathroom and large bath. I noticed that the sinks in the bathrooms have been replaced which is a good move. More care should perhaps be taken to the cleaning of the lampshades in the toilet which hadn't been dusted for a while I think!

I think the sign of good service is how things are handled when things go wrong. The initial room issues did not detract from a great stay.

I would like to pick up on one point however.....my partner and I went out for dinner and returned to the hotel thinking we could get a glass of wine and dessert in our room! However on calling room service at 11.05 I was advised that the pastry chef finished at 11 and only the room service menu was available which did not include desserts. With all respect to the pastry chef, I am sure someone could have cut a slice of cake and added some ice cream.

Although the room was close to the lift, I can't say this disturbed our sleep as mentioned by other reviewers. The bed is very comfortable and the room location very quiet. Breakfast was also excellent as usual.

Again a great stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    573
    208
    53
    26
See reviews for
232
1,380
75
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here last week, and I would definitely recommend it for anyone visiting Glasgow. The room was comfortable, lovely king size bed, and with excellent shower and bathroom facilities. Guests have free use of the Spa at certain periods of the day, and I thoroughly recommend its use. The hotel has some of the best and luxurious spa facilities I've come across.
The hotel is well placed for sightseeing, we easily caught buses a short walk from the hotel to go to Kelvingrove museum and art gallery, and the Riverside museum.
We ate one evening in the hotel. Service was good and the food too. Breakfast was always very good too.
The staff were courteous and friendly and always approachable when asking for advice or information on travel, etc.
I would recommend a mid week stay as it was far busier on our final Saturday morning, but I suppose that is to be expected. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairngorm1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I treated my parents to a night out in Glasgow for dinner followed by drinks at the Blythswood Square bar. It was a wednesday night so the place was very quiet but the bar upstairs was the perfect place for a good cocktail in a beautiful setting.

The bartenders was very knowledgable about the cocktails and helped my dad pick out a beauty call Penicillin (whisky based like an old fashioned). The menu was huge and detailed with good descriptions; perfect for those who are never sure what to pick at a classy cocktail joint (like me).

Would recommend this place for anyone looking for amazing cocktails (8-10 pound) and relaxed quiet environment (midweek anyway).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_Mac_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Lovely hotel, well decorated for xmas and a great atmosphere in general. Nice room, worth the price, good standard of food, and topped off by some excellent cocktails and nice professional service. Will certainly be back.

Room Tip: make sure you go for the room one above the basic level, more space, more comfort, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkphooey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We've stayed a couple of times and really liked it. The rooms are comfortable, stylish and have luxurious bathrooms.

The spa is superb, really great.

We ate dinner in the hotel one time but were not overly impressed, there's better places on the doorstep. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandTimAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Every year at this time my husband & I stay in the hotel & use the spa facilities. It's a break away for the everyday chores & time to spend together. From checking in the staff couldn't have been anymore helpful. The waiters & bar staff are very pleasant & can't do enough for you. One bar staff member Aidan will be missed after 4 years.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyhamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had originally booked in another hotel but for our New Year break to Glasgow but changed because this had a Spa - We were there 6 nights and had to change rooms 3 times because of the noise and problems in our bathroom, 1st night we were locked out of our room because they were having problems with electronic keys, couldn't even get in with a hard key, we were told to wait in reception whilst they tried to get the maintenance people in, after travelling for 7hrs from Spain, not something we wanted to hear, just wanted to get some rest - after being ignored for 15 minutes the Night duty manager came along with a master key and after saying we had been just swept aside not even offered a drink she then said they would bring us up a large drink to our room which when it appeared was two SMALL Baileys - our 1st room was on a main road so no sleep. We complained in the morning and they were good about moving us but only to put us in a room overlooking the kitchens and two big fans (you think as we were staying 6 nights and we had complained about the noise and being locked out of our room - as we couldn't get in in the morning also they would have put us in a quite room), anyway, not wanting to complain about this as it was New Years Eve we thought we would put up with it until the next night when there was a constant flushing in the pipes of the bathroom so we asked for a maintenance person to fix this - they then up-graded us to a Deluxe room which was very nice and over looked the square, but too little too late as we had had enough by then. The breakfast was very good but the food in the evening was overpriced and under flavoured.
The Spa receptionists looked like they should be working in a night club not a Spa and were so un-helpful we had to ask where the towels were and about the lockers no one showed us around so we spent a good 15-20 mins looking round to see where everything was - our treatments started late and finished early. I had a facial and on returning to our room no.2 in the lift I noticed that I still had face pack around my hair line and at the side of my nose and eye socket - probably because it was so dark in the treatment room, nice and relaxing but she obviously couldn't see what she was doing, also had a back massage and she asked about pressure to apply so I asked her to make it very strong as I have a frozen shoulder - don't think she heard me!! for what they charge for this Spa it is ridiculously over priced and I have been in many Spas in my years. Aesthetically the hotel is beautiful but I'm afraid most of the staff need more training in customer service. Very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Well we had 3 rooms and all noisy but best of a bad bunch room 324
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing