We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of maintenance”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In need of maintenance”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After reading several reviews on this site we booked a two-night stay at the Blythswood. We were very disappointed with the condition of the hotel, it was visibly run down while the staff were doing their best to cope. The carpets throughout our floor visibly dirty and the hallway and rooms had an odd odour. At one point we were locked out of one of our rooms and told that they needed to get a locksmith in to open the door so we had to go out without our coats. While the decor is modern and stylish the hotel has not been well maintained and looks quite tired, especially when you look past the entrance. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating yet it took over 45 minutes to receive a single coffee from room service. If it weren't for the friendliness of the staff I would have given this hotel only one star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 25Bea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    592
    218
    56
    27
See reviews for
250
1,433
76
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fetcham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a friend for a couple of nights whilst visiting Vettriano exhibition and doing the Mackintosh sites. Friendly staff and we didn't realise till we got there it has a fabulous cocktail bar with superb service especially from Khi. It was quiet one evening so he suggested cocktails especially for us. Concierge also very helpful. Good choice for breakfast and we had one evening meal there which was good, delicious lamb. Room was spacious and comfortable with generous sized bathroom.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 77surreyhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As this is my third review of the hotel I'll cut to the chase.

The hotel gets better every time we visit and it's due to the staff who are professional but warm and friendly.

A special mention to the turbot in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed for 4 nights while in town for work and all I can say is if it wasn’t for the views, the food, the spa, the exemplary service and the great design throughout, this place would be nothing.

As the taxi pulled up to the hotel which sits across from a very nice park which I can only imagine must be quite striking in the spring and summer months when it is all green and its splendor you get your first glimpse of this classic Georgian building. Immediately it gives you a feel of grand and glorious day’s gone bye, but don’t be fooled into thinking it is dated in any way. As you enter into the hotel escorted by a uniformed doorman who walks you down the marbled foyer entrance hall which is anything but dated a grand and palatial entrance hall to be sure. The common areas scream glamour, from the classic sweeping staircase to marvelous crystal chandeliers, to the somewhat out of place tones of plum that dot various areas it just seems to work a great mix of classic beauty and a boldly modern flair.

Check in is fast efficient and courteous. I stayed in the Blythswood Suite which overlooks the square and offers a very nice view over it (a word of note if you are a light sleeper sometimes at night you can hear the noises of late night party goers so maybe this might not sit well with you) myself on the other hand am a city boy so the additional noise was not an issue at all. The suite is decorated in a simplistically elegant fashion with all the modern techno amenities one could want with plenty of room to stretch out after a long at work or sightseeing. The bathroom is spacious and furnished with some rather nice toiletries done in marble and again with plum toned lighting fixtures which for some reason just do not seem to fit but are not terrible in any way. The bedroom is large with plenty of space for storage and the linens are exquisite offering a great nights sleep.

The spa area located downstairs is a nice escape a great way to start out your day or end it after a full day of being on your feet sightseeing. Although somewhat dark and definitely a 21st century design and attitude it offers some very unique and pleasant spa experiences. The thermal experiences are set up to take your body and mind on a wet/dry thermal experience letting all the cares of the day just melt away. The only negative I find with it, is the limited hours of usage to hotel guest free of charge a charge for use between 9am-6pm is applied which seems a little nickel and dime.

The hotels restaurant is very good offering a broad range of Scottish delights to international fare. The menu, whose ingredients are gathered largely from local producers, is somewhat limited but still solid in its offerings. The wild Scottish venison served with an Infusion of juniper berry, thyme roasted potato cake, parsnip and horseradish puree, glazed parsnips, and red wine sauce was absolutely delicious as was the desert of the white chocolate cheesecake with raspberry and pink peppercorn macaroons, accompanied by pistachio ice cream.

The hotel itself is situated in the very heart of Glasgow and offers you great access to all the city has to offer either on foot or public transportation or by cab service. So if sightseeing, shopping, dining or just being part of the city is your goal all can be accomplished quite easily and well from its fantastic location.

The concierge and all hotel staff go out of their way and above and beyond to make sure your stay is all you want it to be. So I highly recommend if you have the opportunity to stay you do.

Room Tip: For some overlooking the park may be loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed for a two night break with my daughter for a half term shopping trip. Hotel and staff were faultless. Room 405 was perfect with amazing views of Glasgow.
We eat in the hotel on first evening, food was delicious, well presented and cooked to order.
Used the spa facilities and again first class.
All in all a perfect break and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Fifth floor have great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny6757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for a Valentine break.This is a totally gorgeous hotel! I can't think of one negative! The hotel is very stylish throughout.The bed was the ultimate in luxury & comfort.Breakfast is delicious with a good selection of both hot & cold food.We used the spa on two occassions ~ it is like a hidden grotto,& just perfect after a cold Glasgow day.This hotel alone is almost reason enough to visit Glasgow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for work. Looked at price in itinerary and thought it was going to be awful and it's amazing. Large, nicely lit rooms, beautiful bathroom, amazing restaurant and then a hidden spa downstairs. Try the mushroom oriechette with baked buffalo mozzarella in a truffle foam! Found my massage relatively expensive at 80 pounds but everything else was amazing. Stay here and you won't regret it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Supasuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
612 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,793 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,027 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing