We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Pwick21
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Good location, and check in staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms are high quality with all the amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Thermal spa is heaven and would return just for this. Cocktail bar is worth a visit, and breakfast was of high standard. Expected better food from market menu in hotel restaurant, however I would still return to stay in hotel and would eat out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pwick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    580
    212
    55
    26
See reviews for
242
1,399
75
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Beautiful rooms, delightful soft furnishings, wonderful beds with magnificent bathrooms and the quality of service from the staff is exceptional. Lots of plug sockets, dataports and free Wi-Fi, even US and European plugs this should be a traveller's dream.

But the heating doesn't work properly and the walls are thin. You can clearly hear conversations and other sounds from adjacent rooms as well as significant noise from those above. Walk down the corridor and you can hear the conversations in every room you pass There are no bathrobes, and no slippers unacceptable for a spa hotel. Many of the little touches that you would expect at these prices just are not there.

My initial reaction was I think I've found my new Glasgow base, but after just a few hours I realised I won't be coming back. What they do well they do very very well, what they miss undermines this all. The overriding reason that I will not be returning is the total lack of privacy, I don't want to hear every last word of people’s conversations or other activity in the adjoining rooms and I certainly don't want them hearing mine.

The food and drink here is generally very good. See my previous review of the restaurant. Breakfast however was underwhelming. No granary toast despite requesting; only a standard brown which tasted like what I imagine would expect from a Tesco budget brown loaf. Insipid scrambled eggs, a stark contrast to the magnificent version of the same I had at The Rutland, Edinburgh the day before, again see separate review. This was accompanied by straight out of the freezer smoked salmon, very cold and utterly tasteless. Like eating frozen rubber. The service though was excellent.

Overall the Blythswood Square promises so much only to disappoint, given the nature of some of the failings it's hard to see how these can be improved without a complete refurbishment. If walls are too thin, they are too thin. A great shame, an opportunity missed and an hotel to be avoided unless you would be happy with the above defects.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms, can't speak about any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianx1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for two days for work, would recommend, staff exceptional and really polite and willing to go out of there way. Food was of good quality as well. Really liked the room, especially with the very good choice of movies! would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McUK2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night using the Sunday special deal and what excellent value for money, cannot recommend it enough. The room was a 'wee classic room' but was more than big enough for the two of us with a beautiful marble bathroom with separate shower and bath. The thermal suite was incredible, great choice of pools/saunas/steam rooms if I had more time I would have definitely tried a treatment. The food was excellent as well and portion sizes were very generous, couldn't even finish 2 courses which really isn't like us! Highly recommend a cocktail or two as well. Will definitely be back at earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lympez29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

First visit this year and have already booked another! The room we had was the nicest yet.Harris tweed fabrics everywhere and cashmere throw on the bed. Real luxury. Staff very attentive and food lovely.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our second visit to the Blythswood. We had a good experience, very comfortable bed and pillows, well equipped room and pleasant and helpful staff. Well positioned for the city being situated across from a pretty square in a quiet part of the city but close enough to walk to the attractions. I would recommend it to those who like a relaxing and stress free stay in Glasgow.
The cocktail bar is a must to start (and end) your evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just back from a one night stay at the Blythswood. Our stay was brilliant from start to finish with absolutely no faults! The staff were so warming and clued up on drinks, food recommendations and housekeeping were excellent. (giving us different bedding after juice was spilled everywhere). The spa was a luxurious experience that will be very difficult to top. We will definitely be booking our next stay here soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing