We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked a Sunday night ahead of business trip. Good rate so got at a price that might get something a lot lower standard usually. This is a really nice place.
Got a room on the top floor which was quiet, albeit I agree with recent reviewer about being very dimly lit. Anyhow, nice bed and freebie chocolate marshmallows (its the small things!). Only odd thing was that shower cubicle in the toilet area, but separate bath as well.
Had drinks early in evening at main downstairs bar and then a few whiskies much later at the first floor bar, There was live music there earlier in the evening when I arrived. Friendly bar-tender. (didn't have evening meal there).
Breakfast was good spread and decent eggs benedict!
Anyhow, would certainly return, happy to take girlfriend there - a good measure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,407 - 1,413 of 2,719 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

A fleeting visit of one night. The hotel staff very welcoming. We booked a deluxe room but on arrival were upgraded. The room was impressive, huge lounge area and beautiful bathroom. The bedroom was a good size but disappointingly dimly lit. There was a dressing table with a mirror above but no power points or lighting. Had to request a lamp to be brought up. No TV in the bedroom either, apparently away for repair.
Excellent evening meal & service.
Unfortunately the room (415) was in close proximity to the AC units and I was kept awake from 4am until 6am by the loud noise. However, would stay here again but ask for a room well away from the AC units and with lighting....

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was my second stay at the Blythswood. The first was particularly memorable as it became quite extended due to the blizzard of 2010.

I have a huge soft spot for this hotel. The architecture and decor is beautiful. The location is second to none. It's a quick and easy walk down to the city centre and Merchant City and an easy jaunt to Sauchiehall Street. The square outside is serene and it was nice to see if covered in daffodils rather than a huge blanket of snow.

My room this time faced the interior quad which was somewhat of a letdown after our last room with a view of a square. But, it was a very comfortable, quiet room and it was nice to be on the side of the hotel where you can take the lift directly down to the spa thereby avoiding the spa walk of shame in your dressing gown and swimsuit.

Speaking of the spa - the thermal experience is beyond words. Nothing better than the sauna, steam room, pool and ice plunge if you're up early with jet lag or nursing the remnants of a night before out on ra toon. I've yet to find a nicer spa stateside.

So, why only four stars? While the staff were by and large great, especially David on the door, service in the bars was challenging and I found myself chasing bar staff for drinks orders or to close the check on more than one occasion. It's an easy fix for the hotel and I hope they sort it out as it pains me to complain about anything when it comes to this hotel. Hope to see you soon, Blythswood!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

So enjoyed our weekend stay at this lovely hotel. Our room (standard double I think) was a great size, clean and finished to a high standard. Great big bath and good shower. Our bed was very comfy and our room faced into a central courtyard so was very quiet. Staff at the hotel are really warm and helpful - reception responded very quickly to a couple of requests. We took advantage of the complimentary thermal spa experience and it was very relaxing. Breakfast was extensive and very good. We had dinner in the restaurant on one evening and chose from the less expensive Market menu and the food was great as was the reasonably priced wine. Overall, a really enjoyable stay and we will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and overlooking an inner courtyard so the room was very quiet even on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Great room and fantastic service from all the staff. Cocktails and food amazing and nice spa bit more for breakfast would have been nice on the full Scottish :) steak for dinner the night before was cooked and seasoned to perfection. Great treat :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the staff - they were really friendly and helpful - but the hotel itself doesn't really deliver on promise. There was a wedding on the night we stayed and the hotel was noisy - we didn't get a good nights sleep. The market menu dinner was very good - although again nothing to write home about.
The spa was nice, but probably a bit too warm.
We really thought it was going to be special, and it wasn't.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterford_Treasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I Stayed for one night with 3 friends in the deluxe twin rooms with a lovely view over Blythswood Square.The hotel is centrally located and walking distance from Glasgow Central train station although it is uphill.All the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive without being overbearing.The rooms were spacious with a large black marble ensuite bathroom with separate bath and shower.The twin beds were small standard size but comfortable .The welcome board of sweets was a thoughtful touch.The complimentary toiletries were Ila and rather strongly scented.Bathrobes and slippers were provided for use in the hotel.Our rooms were directly above the cocktail lounge and the music was audible however by the time we retired for the night the hotel was quiet.There was some traffic noise but it wasn't intrusive.The windows are secondary glazed only .The entire hotel is decorated in red black and grey with RAC photographs and memorabilia as a tribute to its previous heritage.The thermal spa was excellent again with a good mixture of steam rooms ,hot rooms ,saunas and pools in black marble and dimly lit.Dinner was wonderful with a good value fixed price menu.Choosing from the a la carte menu pushed the price up considerably.The cocktail bar is not to be missed with a delightful ambience and a 48 page black book of cocktails.When one of our party didn't like her beverage a substitute was provided free of charge .Breakfast was first class although the service was not as slick as at dinner and our table had no butter dish or marmalade.I returned home relaxed and feeling on top of the world.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank traveldoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
826 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,346 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £122 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing