We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level Contributor
223 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until we checked out everything was right. Tom on the door greeted us and immediately took charge of our smooth checking in even though a large party were crowded in reception. Our room was a standard double and was clever boutique design, bathroom we'll furnished and laid out. The public areas were well presented and furnished, we drank in both bars and enjoyed the atmosphere. The hotel is right on edge of town centre and middle of town is only minutes away. If visiting Glasgow I would check availability for this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,710
    589
    213
    55
    26
See reviews for
244
1,420
75
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed one night for my husband’s birthday. Nice room, good views over rooftops and skyline. Room very clean, bathtub was very short, however. I am average height and felt uncomfortable in it. Thermal experience at the spa was excellent but fitness suite is very small and has very limited equipment. Good breakfast and service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katoomba21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

As a cake lover i decided to book a table at the Blythswood Square. The first impression was great, magnificent building in a great location. Sadly when we arrived to our table everything drastically changed.

The table was located right next to the ladies toilet and the chairs were way taller than the actual table, very uncomfortable indeed. The sandwiches were nice, a good selection, although the scones were very little and rather dry and heavy which is unforgivable.Thankfully the cakes were outstanding and that was good enough to save the day.

Also the service wasn't the best, the waitress was pleasant but with no attention to detail at all. No explanation of afternoon tea, no satisfaction check, coffees took far too long to arrive and no apologies or soever, etc.

For an establishment with such a caliber and good reputation everything was very grim, disappointing and well overpriced.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Einbarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We've dined at this hotel on several occasions but never stayed over. It was indeed five star quality. The rooms were very tastefully decorated and the bathroom in particular was stunning. We have to comment on the staff. From reception to the bar staff and breakfast team, they were all really friendly, polite and super efficient. Sometimes whilst staying at hotels it's either the room that's great or the staff/service but to have both really merits The Blythswood with its five star status. We'll be back and the sooner the better!!

Room Tip: Good location for a shopping trip to Glasgow. Avoid buying a large glass of red wine as it's rid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a spa break.

The room was reasonably spacious and luxuriously decorated with a comfortable bed. It was on the ground floor and looked onto a courtyard overlooked by other rooms so we kept the curtains closed.

Hotel is tastefully decorated, very clean and staff were very courteous and friendly.

I was a little disappointed with dinner and the cooked breakfast. It wasn't bad but for a hotel of this standard I would've expected better. However the breakfast buffet was fantastic. I've never seen a make your own Bloody Mary section in a buffet breakfast before! Another plus - there were a couple of famous faces staying so we rubbed shoulders with the VIPs at dinner and breakfast :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiDelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a wonderful nights stay at the Blythswood! Staff were all wonderful and very helpful. The room was outstanding and i had a great night sleep ( i never normally sleep well when i am not at home in my own bed). The spa was amzing, very relaxing and we i will deffinately return. The only dissapointing part was my breakfast, the staff again were amazing! The buffet was fantastic and had a large selection. The cooked breakfast that my husband and myself had was a little bland, dry and the eggs werent cooked properly. Other than this which was a little disappointing, we had a great stay. Also i cant recommend the bar on the first floor enough, cocktais were great and the bar staff again were very attentive. xx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ej22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Everything from reception to departure five star. Difficult to single out any one particular aspect of excellence. But here goes! 1/ reception quick,friendly and efficient. 2/room.just as good as you can get.Realise that does not tell you much but mine was so impressive.3/ breakfast and service was the icing on the cake.A true 5 star establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing