We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel let down by poor service in bar and restaurant”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel let down by poor service in bar and restaurant”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a beautiful and stylish luxury hotel, in a prime location and with excellent facilities.
I was able to park on the square immediately outside the front door at reasonable rates. Valet parking is also available for a consideration. Check-in was effortless and charming. Bedroom had a real wow factor. Big comfy bed with a choice of pillows, comfy sofa and table. Writing desk. Lots of storage space. Decor very tasteful, decent lighting. Bathroom, spacious all black marble and big mirrors. A sunken bath tub, with a sliding partition if you want to bath by daylight, and quality shower attachment. There is also a walk in shower as an alternative. I had a great night's sleep, although one colleague closer to the lift was less fortunate. The Spa is very impressive, with a large thermal suite offering a range of hot and warm rooms and pools withe various amusing ways of applying running water or bubbles. Sadly the bar and restaurant let the place down. They do excellent cocktails with an encyclopaedic list. Similarly both the market (table d'hôte) and a la carte menus have a range of tasty options but the service is all over the place. Our group had to wait ages for drinks although they were far from busy. At dinner we were not offered bread and had to ask for it. Tap water in Glasgow is good. We had to ask 4 times for a carafe before it turned up. Similarly for getting a second bottle of wine. Seemed a bit inattentive really. Food was pretty good although I thought the scallops (which were actually queens) a bit on the mean side, and the tuna steak a bit under seasoned. Breakfast, colleagues had trouble getting toast, and the kipper which was supposedly grilled looked as if it had been boiled in a bag. Coffee was not great tasting or very hot or in sufficient quantity. The smoked salmon and scrambled egg, and the eggs florentine and benedict looked generous and good.

Room Tip: All seem good, but being close to a lift is not advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaitero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    601
    219
    56
    29
See reviews for
254
1,447
76
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The spa is a must see, totally lush and the staff are so helpful- we have been twice now with deals from itison and feel totally relaxed and rejuvenated by the time we leave. I highly recommend going upstairs for a cocktail afterwards- the bar staff are so friendly and cocktails are delicious! All in all a five star experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel!
The spa is lovely: sauna, steam room, pools, tepidarium- we really enjoyed it.
The room beautiful: large bed and connected with the bathroom ( can also be closed off).
Breakfast great: especially the coffee ( espresso) was good and the choice on the buffet maybe not too big but all very good quality. I personally don't eat pork- the cold cuts on the buffet were all pork and think some chicken/ beef would really add some variety.
What really stood out was the service at breakfast this Good Friday morning. The gentleman who welcomed us and arranged our coffees etc really made us feel welcome and at home.
Looking forward to visit again, but then longer!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at Blythswood for two nights over the Easter weekend and cannot recommend this hotel enough!

The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring the city with restaurants and bars nearby. We had no problem parking on the square when we arrived but did decide to use the hotels valet parking once checked in as it worked out better value.

The rooms are beautiful, with the most amazing bathrooms and comfy beds. We enjoyed breakfast and room service in our room, both if which were lovely.

What really makes Blythswood Square five star is the service. From the moment we walked in the door to the moment went checked out every member of staff greeted us with a warm smile and couldn't do enough to help.

Our only niggle is that we didn't have time to use the spa but hope to return soon to do so.

Mr and Mrs T Dickens

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Street_Dickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed in the Blythswood Hotel many times and am in awe of the above first class service myself and my friends have received. From walking through the front door until departure you are made to feel important and nothing is too much for the amazing staff.The spa is Fab and the rooms especially the beds please book this hotel and treat yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for one night over Easter weekend. We had a huge ground floor room, lovely big bed with crisp white linens. All the upholstered furniture was Harris Tweed and very tasteful. The all marble bathroom had a big bath with sliding walls through to the bedroom, great to watch the TV!

There was a short wait for a table at breakfast as it was so busy but were given fresh juice a pastries whilst we waited. Breakfast was a delicious selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheese, breads, fresh juice & that was not including the cooked breakfast!

We look forward to returning to the Blythswood when we are next in Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We (husband, two small children and I) stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding there. I left wishing we could have stayed longer. Our room (a deluxe on the third floor) was large, quiet and comfortable and the service was outstanding in terms of both efficiency and friendliness. The attractive and modern bathroom was well-equipped with an abundance of towels (not having enough towels is a pet hate of mine) and high quality toilettries. We had arranged to use a travel cot for our baby and camp bed for our son, both of which had been assembled and made up prior to our arrival. We were able to check into our room when we arrived just before midday - far earlier than the advertised check-in time, which with two little ones was a huge bonus. Our stay was over Easter and when we came back to the room to put the children to bed in the evening, an Easter egg had been placed by our son's bed, along with a glass of milk. This was a much appreciated little touch. We ate three meals in the hotel and all were delicious. The valet parking was pricey but a useful and efficient service and I would pay to use it if staying there again. All in all, it was amongst the most expensive places I have stayed, but it was worth it for the lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smalllaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
658 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,849 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,074 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing