We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Sorry I m just getting round to writing a review on this hotel! What an amazing relxing experience you hve at this hotel!
My fiance and I stayed Christmas Eve 2013 and it was truely amzing, the christmas tree at the reception was wonderful, and the staff were very friendly and warm. When you stay you automaticlly get access to the thermal spa and what a fantstic experience this is!
Very very relaxing, the rooms are very modern and had a lottle welcom board of chocoltes and gingerbread men. the breakfast is fir for a king with a buffet style trable with ham, bread, cheese, meats and juice, as well as the full scottish being on offer.
The cocktailas are to die for and very unusual, as it was christmas morning when we woke up there was a little gift bag at our door with chocolte, some drambuie, nd a tangerine, very nice touch!
We have aleady booked up again for this xmas eve :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    573
    208
    53
    26
See reviews for
232
1,380
75
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have stayed at the hotel 3 times and I never been disappointed with the service at meal times or the meals.Reception and the concierge are great being from Glasgow they can answer all my questions re Glasgow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dopey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay. I was there for a romantic weekend and it was amazing. We enjoyed the spa and the fantastic dinner that evening. The hotel bar was a great place for a drink and the bartenders were very knowledgeable. I didn't want to leave in the morning, especially after a fabulous breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Conveniently situated near the centre of Glasgow but still in a quiet square. Really good quality rooms with all mod cons and very friendly staff. Overall good value for money although we get a healthy business discount.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MRJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay here last night. We were having a night away as a wee treat. I was slightly nervous as both my husband and I are tattooed and when I seen the entrance and decor I thought we would get snubbed lol ! .........

The staff were amazing ! So polite and courteous . On arrival we were also told we had been upgraded. That was a lovely surprise.

Our room was perfect, clean and very comfertable. The bathroom was lovely all in marble, we also took advantage of the complimentary movies as well.

I really can't fault this beautiful hotel and we will definitely be back to stay again and we will also be recommending to friends and family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Blythswood Square is a lovely hotel, although I wouldn't call it 5 star (I've stayed in plenty of 4 stars that have been just as nice).

Firstly, the food and service are great. It's a little odd having the bar on the 1st floor - it would have been nicer if also open to the public. I think it probably is, but didn't feel that way. The service was great and very friendly, although almost verging slightly towards sycophantic on occasion and we did wonder at the sincerity of all staff. Our package included breakfast and both that and the evening meal we had from the set menu were delicious and beautifully presented.

However, the big let down for me was the room. For some reason they clearly decided that dark, moody decor was the classy way to go - but it made the room feel exactly that. One tiny window, with black curtains to cover the walls at either side, very dark wood/black furniture, black light shades and dingy bulbs - along with all the black marble in the bathroom - made it feel cheerless and oppressive. It was also very hard to read in the lack of light. Decorating in pale colours, including pale marble, would have made a world of difference, especially given the teeny tiny window.

So, nice hotel, if you don't spend much time in your room.

Room Tip: Ask if they're all decorated in dark colours!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Sunday Special rate represents the best possible value. We were not disappointed. Whilst the building and decor is top notch, it is perhaps the staff that leave the best impression....all very friendly, professional and most helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing