We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Friendly greeting as soon as you enter hotel. Lovely touch in room with a card and sweets welcoming you back. Two rooms booked together and they were right next door to each other. Dinner was fantastic with good service. Cream soda float is a must to try.

Free movies in room. Well stocked mini bar. Comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast has a good variety with a good quality hot option available.

Cant wait for next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,728
    593
    218
    56
    27
See reviews for
250
1,435
76
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We took advantage of the Sunday special rate for dinner, bed and breakfast and upgraded to a deluxe room.
The room was large and facilities excellent, we also took advantage of the spa facility which is included for residents after 6pm.
The spa is quite large with everything you need (sauna, steam, Jacuzzi etc) for a relaxing time before dinner.
An excellent stay with very helpful and friendly staff.
Only minus I would say is the small size of dinner portions, you will need to get a few side orders in if you have a healthy appetite. The breakfast made up for it though with a fine selection of continental and cooked options. The smoked haddie with poached eggs a particular yum of mine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyoneJimboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate , England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a nights stay at Blythswood Sq. Had a really enjoyable stay, from check in to check out I certainly couldnt fault anything. It was quite fortunate that the week before we stayed there was an offer on itison for a 18 pound lunch for 2 which we managed to take advantage of. In fact it worked out quite well. Normally we would have booked to eat out on a Saturday in Glasgow, but instead decided to have lunch then to go and do a little shopping (5 min walk). The lunch was good, well presented tasty food! Good service, plenty of staff on call. Did some shopping, then decided to come back just after 6pm to use the spa that is complimentary between 6pm and 9pm. This was a good plan as the spa really is worth it. The actual spa is underground and split across 5 or 6 rooms. By rooms I mean steam, sauna etc etc. There is a huge whirlpool spa and then a pool with all manner of jets/jacuzzi type treatment. I think we spent maybe an hour and half in here, it really was worth it. We then decided to rather than go out get something from the menu in the first floor bar. The bar area is pretty cool, very busy, plenty going on for a Sat night, so we thought why go out? Drinks are reasonable I think a cocktail was 7 pound?? A pint of lager 5? I thought the staff did well here. We walked into the main reception and asked about food? Went upstairs and by the time we had got to the top of the stairs another member of staff said " i believe you are looking for some food?" and showed us to a table. I thouht this was a really good touch. Food was good, it was just a burger x 2 but decent all the same. Overall good stay, breakfast next morning was plentiful, lots to choose from. Room was fine, not sure where we were on the grading? I think we were in a standard room, it was pretty large, big sliding panels so you can open up the bathroom into the bedroom! Wi-fi is fast! Parking advice, expensive on street but free after 6pm and on a Sun. I parked in the Q Park on Waterloo St literally a 3 min walk down the hill, then moved it onto the street outside the hotel on the way back from shopping so it was handy for the Sunday check out. Any future Scotland trips will always start here especially given the price!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruciebonus_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The breakfast (included) is excellent - so is the restaurant and the bar. The room is ok, but personally I really hate bathrooms that have "windows" that open to the room. When I mind my own business - so to speak - I like my privacy...
The air conditioning is not very powerful, by the way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anwalt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a lovely afternoon tea here today with friends and family. The setting is very atmospheric and the staff professional, friendly and accommodating. There was plenty of food - a cake stand per person - great sandwiches, scones and cakes. The staff offered any kind of tea or coffee. Food was served promptly - no waiting about, and we had delicious cocktails. It was a lovely treat. To top it all, the Commonwealth Games Team procession passed the window where we were sitting so we had a VIP view. Would recommend and will go again. Perhaps a spa day next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckiebrogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night on the 'Square Deal' DBB for £200. It also included use of the spa facilities and a bottle of prosecco. Room was lovely, nice, modern decor and clean AND we had free wifi. The bed was really comfy. Staff were friendly, and the food was really good. We enjoyed a couple of drinks in The Salon where staff were attentive and friendly- cocktails were nice even if a bit pricey. Spa facilities were nice but it was extremely busy so it was quite loud so not that great for a relaxing time but we enjoyed it all the same. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the shops & Queen Street Station so might be worth getting a taxi if you don't want to walk far if going out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACLeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Having visited a number of times, we are never disappointed by this place. Staff are very attentive, food is always great and facilities and room always warrent it's five star rating. A perfect treat for a weekend break.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenajohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
616 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,801 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,033 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing