We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not five star!”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The Blythswood Square does NOT deserve it's five star rating. The management clearly bought the fifth star. We have just returned from a 3 day trip to Glasgow and every day had to deal with a new problem. Yes the place is beautiful, yes the rooms are stunning, and the bathrooms are to die for, but on closer inspection, the fixtures and fittings are really cheap - door knobs breaking, walls scuffed, carpets wearing away, this place is not even a year old! We had breakfast trays left outside our room door from 10am to 7pm. We waited 30 minutes for a cocktail in an empty bar. I was met with discontent when I ordered a single scone and cup of tea from the first floor bar, I was told I had to buy the £9.50 afternoon tea, as they couldn't serve me a single scone!

The pre authorisation payment is ludicrous. You basically pay the full amount of your stay as soon as you walk through the front door. For someone who does not use credit cards this makes accessing your own money VERY difficult. Especially since we were over charged by £200. After you leave, the hotel need to fax your bank to tell them to release the funds. It's a very difficult and long process, it could take up to five working days for your money to be released!

We've come back very very frustrated. Yes we had a nice time, but I think that has more to do with the people we were visiting than the place we stayed. Yes it has the WOW factor as you walk in, but after 3 days you really notice all the major flaws.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julz_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,719 - 2,725 of 2,828 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

Previous reports not always a good guide but in this case they were; best hotel in town and leaves Hilton and the others way behind. If you are staying in Glasgow this is the place to be. Very central in the best square in town. The renovations to the old RAC club have done the place proud and the bar, dining room and salon are relaxing to sit around whether for business or leisure.

Stayed one night in de luxe room; great bed, terrific shower room and free standing bath in separate room with original fireplace and candles. All mod cons of a high standard including large flat screen TV. Disappointed over lack of spare space in the bedroom. I could have done without the 'bathroom' as this would have created a reasonable size sitting area. The one real downside was the aircon; in this room incredible noisy even turned down.

We had dinner out but came back for late cocktails which were terrific along with the service.

Breakfast was excellent and the buffet spread was about the biggest I have seen with positively everything you could want. I had the full Scottish but next time I will stick to the buffet.

I booked online direct with hotel as this was best deal available; £180 for two in de luxe room including full breakfast. Cannot wait for excuse to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Great location, fantastic building and extremely well renovated. The public areas are beautifully furnished - all have real wow factors. Our room was similarly beautifully furnished - very comfortable bed, exceptional bathroom and very welcome drinks making facilities (not usual in 5 star hotel). The only downside to the room was that it was very dark and the lighting was inadequate, black lampshades and dark furnishings compounded this problem. It was a very masculine room (without any soft floor coverings at all). There were however a few teething problems. Drinks service in the Salon is painfully slow although drinks when they arrive are very good and well price. Breakfast service was also slow and very disappointed to see Tesco's sliced bread being used for toast - not appropriate for a hotel of this standard. Cleanliness was OK, but not as good as it should have been. Staff were very polite and friendly but overall service was not up to 5 star standards. There are still quite a few areas not yet finished - the inner courtyard is still a building site. The spa and fitness centres are not yet open. When these teething problems have been fixed, I'm sure this will be a great hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drew01829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

A lovely find for two tired travellers. The beds are just heaven, the bathroom devine. Lovely ambience throughout and a great Scottish feel to it. Coming from Dublin where all staff were Eastern European it was great to have a real authentic Scottish feel to it. This hotel will only improve with addition of the spa this year. A great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for just one night - impressive building in a central location, very comfortable and luxurious room.
Lovely gardens across the road and close to all Glasgow has to offer. The staff although friendly enough were more 4 star than 5 - we had a slight issue with our dinner reservation as we arrived 15 minutes late to find that our table had been given away!! a little disappointing considering they could have phoned the room to check. I felt a little scolded for being late - not such a 5 star experience!, having said that we were offered a drink on the house while we awaited a new table, and enjoyed a fine meal and after dinner drink in the bar.
I would stay again and would recommend to others - I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and the ambiance, quality and location of Blythswood is unique, the staff need a little more training for the customer to feel special and welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaDundee_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed in Blythswood Square Hotel for 1 night.
We thought it was great value at £93 for B&B. (Booked direct with the hotel last minute). The hotel is fantastic, with lovely rooms and a great restaurant/bar.
The breakfast is one of the best we have had.
We have stayed at many hotels in Glasgow including One Devonshire Gardens but prefer Blythswood over them all and would return in an instant!!.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobbylou_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Had a fab stay here overnight for my 40th birthday, and had a crowd of friends join me in the bar for cocktails. George the doorman is a ledgend, couldn't have been more helpful. Room was gorgeous and not overly expensive. Will definitely be back. Only slight disappointment was breakfast, although having it brought to my room was a bonus and bar service was very slow upstairs, but staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShamuGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
962 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,413 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £110 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing