We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Glasgow”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Isle Of Man
2 reviews
“One of the best hotels in Glasgow”
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of Glasgow. I stayed with my daughter and the room was excellent with a superb italian marble en-suite. The staff were most helpful and assisted with the use of the state of the art technology.

The food was of the highest standard and the service by the staff at all levels were both helpful and efficient.

Although the en-suite bathroom developed a plumbing problem which resulted in a change of room. The new room was equally of a high standard and the staff assisted with the transfer of my luggage.

I would hope to visit once the hotel has the new spa facilities operational as this would make the experience even better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMay037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,728
    593
    218
    56
    27
See reviews for
250
1,435
76
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Loved this place, the decor is fantastic; lots of Harris Tweed everywhere and being an island dweller it is just makes you so proud to see the fabric used in a contemporary, yet non pretentious way. I visited with a friend and we can't wait to return with our husbands. Lovely service from staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I booked this hotel long before some of the negative reviews started sprouting on this site about it - which made me go in with trepidation. However, I was blown away by the service and quality of what was provided by the hotel. The standard king room was beautiful, exactly as pictured on the hotel's site, with a beautiful marble bathroom, shower + tub, and comfy king bed.

What really made this hotel special, however, was the staff. All were extremely kind and eager to help - from the porters and reception workers to the restaurant staff. And the restaurant must be mentioned as our rate included breakfast (as most hotels in London do), and the breakfast was wonderful. A huge buffet of cold items as well as anything you wanted from the hot, a la carte menu.

As this is a new hotel, it did have a few gliches -- spotty wi-fi the first day (but good all the rest - as well as free) and only one towel hook in the whole bathroom. These didn't detract from our stay though. The cherry on top of everything was the hotel's cost - only slightly more than what you'd pay for a standard Marriot or Hilton Garden Inn room (thanks to a discount on the hotel's site).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Great conversion of old RAC Club building. Impressive lobby, with great doorman service. Room was large, simple but tasteful decor, marble bathrooms impressive. Great bed and bed linnen, state of the art music system in the room (though need someone to show you how it works). Dinner was ok but not special, probably most people dine out. Wine prices very high. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jass020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Stayed one night in the hotel with my boyfriend, and also had dinner there. Can honestly say that everything from the minute we went in was amazing! The staff are all so friendly and helpful, and it seemed that they would go out their way to make your stay the best it could be. Dinner was great, and the cocktails are definitely the best I've had in Glasgow, and actually better than anywhere else I can think of. The room we stayed in was a basic double, it was ideal. Breakfast was also fantastic, great selection and even better that its delivered to your room. Would urge anyone looking to stay in Glasgow to stay here, its amazing!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This hotel is beautiful. The design is great and a wonderful edition to the City.
However, staff are a huge let down. I have spent the last 10 years travelling with business and have stayed at 4 and five star hotels worldwide. This hotel NEEDS to employ a decent calibre of staff. At the reception they were rude, clueless and unhelpful. I was astounded to overhear when a young couple were asking where were the cool places to go to eat and drink in Glasgow, they were offered one option of a shopping center in the city centre. Glasgow is a really edgy city with a wealth of great areas to dine and drink esp. The Merchant City and the West End as well as some great bars and restaurants a couple of blocks from the hotel. None of these were mentioned and the couple left looking disappointed and lost.
A five star hotel needs to give 4 and 5 star recommendations to maintain its reputation.
We had dinner with our friends on the second night of hte stay and elected for one of the special offers with a free bottle of prosecco. The waiting staff were not familiar with the menu or the offers and having been told twice that it did not exist we had to show two staff the offer printed in there own menu??The waitresses could not descibe the dishes on the menu and were unable to tell us which cheeses were on the cheese board. The food was 7/10 but I had the most bland and overcooked seabass I have tasted.
It seems a case of all the gear, no idea.....A beautiful hotel, with so much potential, but poorly selected staff, who appear bored and disinterested and unable to provide basic information about the food and drink and no consistent service. With the arrival of the UKs first 6 star hotel in Glasgow on the horizon, they better buck up their ideas or it will be curtains for the Blysthwood as I the premier Inn is currenty better staffed. Serious action must be taken. If service is addressed, it could be amazing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteDeloitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The Blythswood has fast become my favourite destination in Glasgow. I don’t think anywhere does romance better. Everything about the place sets the scene for falling in love: The beautiful grand opulence of the building, the witty and charismatic doorman who’s there to greet you, the theatre of the restaurant with its lush décor and subtle service. And I’ll let you into a little secret, if you ask nicely they’ll even allow you to finish your meal with coffee and liquor upstairs in the drawing room- sunset visible through the large sash windows and not another soul in site. Mmmmm.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MissMelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
616 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,801 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,033 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing