We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular venue for lunch”

House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe
Ranked #283 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Designed by the famous Scottish architect Charles Rennie Mackintosh, it's one of the city's finest wedding and events venues also home to the popular Art Lovers Cafe and Art Lovers Shop.In the Art Lovers Café, we have a passion for good food and friendly service. Open daily 10am to 5pm, lunch served between 12pm and 4pm, it is the perfect location to ‘do lunch’.We have a great team of Chefs sourcing ingredients from local suppliers.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A regular venue for lunch”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My friends and I return here on a regular basis for lunch because of the service, food quality and good value. This visit I ordered a steak (additional charge of £3) It was cooked perfectly, no need for a steak knife here! There is a good choice of starters, main and sweet courses, don't miss the pear tart and vanilla ice cream, delicious!
It is a good idea to book a table as it can be very busy at lunchtimes and due to the low ceiling in the dining area it can sometimes be a bit noisy.
There is a lovely wee gift shop which sells cards, jewellery and keep sakes which is worth a browse and on a dry day there is a walled garden nearbye to visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanhwlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    82
    43
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely venue and great staff”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had lunch here recently as a half way house for a couple we were meeting. lunch was amazing...the food was way above our expectations, similar to what we would expect from a Michelin star. The price was very reasonable for what we had and the staff were exceptionally professional and helpful, again away above what we expected in a "cafe"type surrounding. The venue itself was interesting, easily accessible from the motorway with good parking. We would be delighted to go back any time

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crew-Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very high quality food”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Visited on Saturday for lunch. Had to wait for a table but the waiter allowed us to reserve and come back later. Service was excellent we all chose from the light bites and all four of us enjoyed our food. good portions too so no complaints at all.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_hall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab lunch”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Went here yesterday for the first time,had heard great reviews,and it certainly didn't dissapoint.
Two courses for £11.99,both food and service very good,can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
“Delightful”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My first vist to the newly renovated art lovers cafe. On entering I was immediately struck by the new shop, very tastefully done and well laid out. On entering the cafe a lovely waitress promptly seated me and informed me of the new cakes on offer. I decided to try the carrot cake great recommendation on behalf of the waitress Kasia! I also enjoyed a flat white coffee which was prepared perfectly by the young barista Oliver. Places like the art lovers cafe are hard to come by with good food/coffee and great service especially in such a beautiful parkland setting, keep up the good work guys!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glasgowfoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing