We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #221 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Designed by the famous Scottish architect Charles Rennie Mackintosh, it's one of the city's finest wedding and events venues also home to the popular Art Lovers Cafe and Art Lovers Shop.In the Art Lovers Café, we have a passion for good food and friendly service. Open daily 10am to 5pm, lunch served between 12pm and 4pm, it is the perfect location to ‘do lunch’.We have a great team of Chefs sourcing ingredients from local suppliers.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Have been Here before, second time for us, both times a treat, food always. Good, small portion is my only winge, small doesn't. Always mean better, ;-) but tasty, would still return,

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    80
    21
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milngavie
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A delightful venue for a leisurely lunch from an enticing menu.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Where to meet up for lunch can sometimes be a dilemma,-is there parking nearby, is it free, are there time restraints imposed by the restaurant, is the ambience congenial, is the location convenient, is the food of high quality and the menu comprehensive, are the staff attentive but not intrusive? This restaurant ticks all the boxes and once again we were allowed to stay and chat long after finishing our lunch, with absolutely no pressure from the staff. A delightful venue for lunch indeed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WayfarerMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding here a few years ago and had a wonderful day. Always planned to go back for a meal as we were so impressed with the food at the wedding so were delighted when friends suggested we meet for lunch here. Had a lovely meal. The lamb main course was a particular highlight. Will be back very soon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cristina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A regular venue for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My friends and I return here on a regular basis for lunch because of the service, food quality and good value. This visit I ordered a steak (additional charge of £3) It was cooked perfectly, no need for a steak knife here! There is a good choice of starters, main and sweet courses, don't miss the pear tart and vanilla ice cream, delicious!
It is a good idea to book a table as it can be very busy at lunchtimes and due to the low ceiling in the dining area it can sometimes be a bit noisy.
There is a lovely wee gift shop which sells cards, jewellery and keep sakes which is worth a browse and on a dry day there is a walled garden nearbye to visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanhwlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely venue and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had lunch here recently as a half way house for a couple we were meeting. lunch was amazing...the food was way above our expectations, similar to what we would expect from a Michelin star. The price was very reasonable for what we had and the staff were exceptionally professional and helpful, again away above what we expected in a "cafe"type surrounding. The venue itself was interesting, easily accessible from the motorway with good parking. We would be delighted to go back any time

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crew-Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe also viewed

 

Been to House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing