We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Mimmo's Ristorante - CLOSED

Mimmo's Ristorante
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This isn't really in an area we planned to go for lunch, so it was a nice surprise to find an Italian restaurant when visiting the area for the day.

If you don't mind a walk, you can get here from Shields Road subway station. It was a good option in our case, as we went to the Scotland Street museum for the day, and discovered that there aren't any nearby food or drink facilities since the closure of the Cafe inside the museum on the 30th of April.

Going to Glasgow on the subway was an option of course, but we opted to go here instead after discovering the restaurant on a trip to the local shops.

We got a 2 course lunch for £5.95, which was excellent considering the price.

There were 5 starter options and 5 main course options on this lunch time menu, which is available between noon and 3pm. The main menu options are more expensive, with a single main course priced at roughly £8 or £9.

The food we had was excellent, and there were some other nice touches. The waiters were very welcoming and were indeed Italian, and I'm told that the female toilets were very well kept, with proper towels which you wouldn't normally expect for a public toilet!

The restaurant itself was very quiet during our visit. The waiter guided us to the restaurant area, but invited us to sit wherever we wish.

I wouldn't normally think of going to the area and as a result I wouldn't think of going to the restaurant. But we had a very pleasant experience on our spontaneous visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great find in Southside of Glasgow.”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

A decent menu selection at reasonable prices. Child friendly in a good atmosphere. This Italian restaurant is only five minutes away from Sringfield Quay if you are going there by car. Welll worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor lunchtime”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Went for lunch today having read the reviews, limited menu although cheap at £5.95 for two courses and coffee. But extra £1 for very small prawn cocktail, then £3.25 for a small bottle of water same price as small bottle of Peroni. Was planning to go back but don't like being ripped off like this, so will give it a miss.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Feeling hungry just thinking about it!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

I have been going to Mimmo's since it opened and it's the best Italian in Glasgow which I've been to (or anywhere for that matter). The food is always fresh, delicious and cooked to a high standard. Mimmo is seen regularly interacting with the diners and is most welcoming and a perfectionist too! I can't highly recommend this restaurant enough, see for yourself, you won't regret it!

Helpful?
Thank Alba11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, personal service and terrific food.”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is the best restaurant on the Southside of Glasgow, no argument. Have dined there regularly since it opened and have never once been disappointed. Mimmo himself is a fantastic character and will come and introduce himself to you, and takes great pride in his cooking. GO! OFTEN!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrauchincloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mimmo's Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing