We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant holiday for our Easter break”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston Upon Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant holiday for our Easter break”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The whole experience was fantastic! My partner and I arrived easily at the hotel and checked in very quickly through the fantastic self service check in. I loved the fact we had an option of choosing which room we wanted. We went for a 7th floor courtyard view in comparison to a second floor city centre view. My partner thought it would be quieter, which it most certainly was although we did look out to a building site. The room was a comfortable size and the bed was HUGE and very impressive. We brought our own hangers as, reading previous reviews knew that hanging space was limited but even though we stayed for three nights we had plenty of space. IPod dock a brilliant touch. Everything controlled by remote which we both loved. Mood lighting from shower cubicle was changeable.We bought our breakfasts before we arrived at a cracking price of £6. I thought it was a fantastic set up. Orange juice, tea or coffee and a hot breakfast consisting of eggs, bacon, sausages, black pudding, tomatoes, toast, muffins and beans was delicious. We both filled up every morning and we didn't have to eat anything else until our evening meals which was brilliant. My partner however is a cereal lover and would of loved to of seen a selection of cereals, porridge, yogarts and fruit on offer. We both had three fantastic nights sleep ready for our days in Glasgow. Checking out was just as easy as checking in, simple and quick. We both had a fantastic stay at a brilliant price and would definately return and recommend to others.

My partner was particular impressed with a female staff member who helped us upon check in. My partner asked her where abouts to visit in Glasgow, any touristy hot spots, restaurants, bars, etc and she was outstanding. She knew the city inside out and recommended Jamie's Italian which we visited on our first night. She was back on the day we checked out and not only remembered us but wanted to know exactly where we had been, what we had done, where had we eaten, what did we enjoy, etc. Very impressive customer service. My partner is sorry that she didn't take the girls name but would like to thank her for her fantastic customer service. The staff who were looking after the breakfasts were brilliant too. We were unsure of the set up of breakfast on our first morning and were guided through the whole process. The cleaning staff were very friendly and greeted us every time they saw us with a hello, how are you and have you enjoyed your day so far which was very generous of them. Thank you to all Citizen M staff who have made our stay very enjoyable.

Thank you Citizen M

Room Tip: Ability to choose own room was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannahkirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,273
    1,341
    294
    105
    61
See reviews for
257
2,830
327
810
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (942)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed overnight on Saturday night. First impressions were really good. Self check-in no problem with staff on hand just in case. Slowest lifts in the world to our floor, but that's not an issue. The room itself was really good. Funky and modern. Good size for an overnight or weekend. Bed was huge and very comfy. iPod dock a nice touch. Everything controlled by remote which I loved. Mood lighting from shower cubicle was changeable and very mood setting. Can't really find fault with room.

Now to my problem. Just prior to our 11am check out my partner put her jewellery on the bed intending to put it on just befor we left. We both got distracted and she left
Her bracelet sitting. We did not immediately realise. After check out we shopped for a time before returning to the hotel.

We spoke to staff (Michael) and explained the problem. We were not allowed back to the unoccupied room to check for the bracelet. He claimed he checked the room which had been cleaned. Also claimed to have spoken to the cleaner who did not see it. Anyway when he flame back to talk to us he was incredibly cheeky and down right rude. He suggested we were "at it" and basically liars. We were totally affronted as it was clear to us the bracelet was removed by a member of staff who did not want to admit it.

Really angry at a number of related issues involving the staff. Don't anyone expect your property to be there if you leave it down!!!!

Just as well it is a police matter now. Hopefully the jail awaits.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, Director of Distribution at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear reviewer,

Thanks for the first part of your review, good to see you appreciated the concept.
As for the stolen bracelet and your alleged report to the police (which did not happen), I would like to rectify this, as there might be other people that are concerned, following your false accusations to our staff members.

The same day you checked out, our management team got in contact by email, and the day after by phone with to let you know that this was under investigation. We were able to speak to the attendant upon arrival the day after you left (she was done with her shift when you came back into the hotel).

She found your wife's bracelet when she cleaned the room, put it in her trolley (secured) and when ending her shift totally forgot to hand it over to the supervisor. When the supervisor went up to the linen room in which she left her cleaning trolley, the bracelet was there.

We have it in the safe for your to pick up, but it has been three days now since we spoke to you about this, and you have not come by?

We love Tripadvisor, as it is a forum where hotels and customers meet to share their opinions about their hotel stay, but are flabbergasted by your approach and lack of decency towards solving this issue, without even wanting to talk to our hotel manager or assistant managers when this was offered....

citizen Lennert
citizenlennert@citizenm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed here for a two night stay without the kids. The rooms were a bit weird first but when you got onto the comfy bed that overlooked the city it was soooo comfy. Mood lighting and controls great. Good selection of films and good wifi. Really close to all the shops. Great value and not expensive. Did not go for the costly breakfast and previous reviews were not good. Went to great Italian breakfast cafe. Dino Ferrari on sauchiehall St. 60 sec walk!! Outstanding oriental Chinese called "dragon I " a60 sec walk north of the hotel. Best oriental meal ever. Only downside was the room was a tad small but fine for two nights. My wife had the two best sleeps in a long time. Recommended 100%

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This hotel was fantastic value for money. Right from the outset the interior design of the hotel was fantastic. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are amazing with mood lighting, state of the art controls for the tv, lights, blinds and alarm as well as the best shower i have ever been in. I think i am ready to move in! You also get the added bonus of free movies which were all pretty new films! The rooms may appear small on first view but there is ample space and the beds are beyond huge. Would definately go again and my only request would but that they expand the chain beyond just glasgow and the other two in amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanojosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My Wife and I stayed in Citizen M for one night in March and it is an absolutely fantastic hotel. The location could not be better for a Glasgow city break as it is seconds away from Sauchiehall Street. The rooms are very modern with cool touch control mood lighting and a very interesting toilet/shower room. Although a tad on the small side the rooms are well equipped and offer enough space for a short stay. The beds are massive and unbelievably comfortable which is a major plus for this hotel.

I would definitely go back to this hotel and I am already considering booking Citizen M for a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

second time i've stayed in a citizen M hotel, the first one being in Amsterdam - it's the most pragmatic out-of-the-box hotel i've stayed in. trendy, designer like, functional, with all the must haves for a modern hotel, like lots of free media entertainment, free wifi, proper shower, super clean, and dead quiet for a good night sleep - beware of the square beds! it can get funky!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We visited Glasgow because we had never been and Easyjet do a direct flight from Bristol.

The bus ride from the airport was very easy with departures every 10 minutes. We stayed in CitizenM Hotel, which is well located, modern and slightly quirky. The huge bed, which most reviews comment on, was indeed huge and comfortable but difficult to clamber in and out of as it goes from wall to wall. The shower is great, but never found out how to change the room colours, as there were no instructions for any of the devices, including TV controls. The room was very small and as the windows didn't open, so slightly claustrophobic, as there were no instructions on how to change the room temperature. 4 nights were long enough and we probably wouldn't return to this or any other CitizanM hotel.

Glasgow has come alive. We did a couple of museums and art galleries, walked along the river, and there are a wide variety of shops.

We did a day trip by train to Loch Lomond. Take the train to Balloch and there are boat rides on the loch just by the station.

Everywhere the people were very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,105 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,646 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing