We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
citizenM Glasgow
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,661)
Filter reviews
5,661 results
Traveller rating
3,622
1,495
349
124
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,622
1,495
349
124
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mmood lightingfree moviesremote controlmood padfunky hotelhigh techwall to wallrooms are smalltouch screenself servicerain showerhuge bedfrosted glasscity viewhanging spaceamazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4,823 - 4,828 of 5,661 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The reason for the title is the size of the bathroom is not much larger than an aircraft toilet. The bedroom has a bed which does not allow room for anything else. No kettlee tea/cofeee in the room.Three coat hangers represent the wardrobe. As someone who spends approximately 30 to 40 weeks a year staying in Hotels I do not understand the rave reviews on the tripadvisor site. On a singular positive note, the bathroom toiletries, although well diluted were quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PAULBWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Hi “PAULBWarrington”,

citizenM started because, as frequent travelers ourselves and spending 50+ nights in hotel rooms every year, we were tired of long check-in time, pay for wifi and having to sleep in large rooms that we don’t need to pay for, walking through (and not making use of) outdated lobbies. We haven’t built our hotels to be traditional, since there are already many other options out there. Instead, we started from scratch keeping in mind what guests really want in a hotel, and a hotel room; the comfort of a home. The reason we choose not to offer tea & coffee facilities in the room was that we could go to the kitchen any time of the day or night, the canteenM is open 24/7, so that we can socialize with the family (other guests and Ambassadors) while drinking a real Italian coffee freshly prepared by our baristas or eat a quick snack – or just sitting in the living rooms to watch tv or spend time reading or browsing a book.

citizenM is a result of luxury where it counts at an affordable rate, but we understand is not everyone’s cup of tea.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed here after travelling from Edinburgh. In Edinburgh I was staying in low-budget university accommdation. Going from there to the luxury of CitizenM was just what I needed. Now when I say luxury, it's all relative. I know this is not a super exclusive, expensive hotel, but they tick all the boxes.

Location wise, it is very close to everything. It's at the tip of the city centre, but you can very easily walk to George Square etc. The Glasgow School of Art and the Willow tea rooms are just a couple of blocks away. The hotel is located on the first floor. The ground floor is the members only area (probably business types) and the doors to the entrance are not clearly marked, but hey that adds to the mystique.

The rooms are actually quite small, but they are well designed so that they fit quite a lot in. I am also little, and I was staying there by myself so it felt spacious to me. There is no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities, but you don't really need it as you are right near many coffee/tea places. Everything is controlled by a remote, so you can turn on the lights, bring down the blinds, turn on the TV and affect the air con with the remote. I was a little surprised when I walked in, my bed looked like it wasn't made. As in the pillows were bunched up and the duvet was folded up and bunched towards the centre of the bed. I arrived at around 2.30pm so it was the start of the check in time so I wasn't sure if that affected it, so i left my bags and went for a walk. When I came back they were the in the same position so perhaps that's just the way it was meant to be. Anyway the bed was really comfortable and it was lovely to sleep there. It has a shower, not a bath but it has different coloured lighting so that was quite cool. Overall room was lovely. Very modern, funky and massive towels as well!

The main areas of the hotel are brilliant. I loved it. It is modern but stylish and comfortable. They have really interesting bits of furniture and many different spaces where you can relax in. I didn't eat or drink in the bar/food area (why would you when you have all of Glasgow to eat and drink in) but it looked nice.

It's almost like a self check-in system. They have someone there to help if you need it but you literally grab a card and put your name in. Same as checking out. So that was unusual. So when you get to the first floor there is no traditional reception desk.

I would definitely recommend CitizenM. It's reasonably priced, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are lovely, the common areas are so very cool and it's centrally located.

Room Tip: Modern, funky but comfortable!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mixedlollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We enjoyed most aspects of the citizenM Hotel in Glasgow. The room was an okay size albeit small, the bed was very comfortable if not easily assessible, the toilet and shower `pod`was cool and the mood pad was fun. The location was great - close to the Buchanan bus station (about a 3 block walk) and the Scot Rail station. We chose this hotel for these two reasons and we were kind of awed by the modernness and funky atmosphere of the hotel. Unfortunately, when we arrived they were experiencing computer problems and in a hotel like this, that is deadly. There was no access to check-in and we were asked to wait `5 minutes`that turned out to be more like 15 or 20 minutes. When we finally were checked in, we went to the room and tried to explore the cool technology. Again, unfortunately, none of the cool technology worked despite my husband being a computer whiz and woeking for quite a while to get it all working. Finally, we called down to the very harried ambassadors to come and fix our TV and mood pad problem. He told us he was busy but that he would come as soon as he could. So we went out for dinner and upon returning to our room were expecting the problem to be solved. No such luck. Thankfully, the still harried ambassador finally came and started everything up for us. After that, the stay was good and comfortable. I guess when you are depending on technology and computers to make your establishment stand out, you`d better be sure there either are no glitches (unreasonable really) or some way to immediately get the glitches sorted out. We did like this hotel and agreed that we would recommend it but with a caveat that if the computers/technology are down, be prepared for some headaches!

Room Tip: Pray the state of the art technology is working
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The ultra modern look was interesting. Check in easy if you are computer friendly. However the room and food was lacking if you are used to extras. We found the room much too small. The bed, although comfortable, touched both walls and the window ares. The only way to access it was on one side. There wasn't any place to store luggage. The stall shower and toilet was adequate but the small sink in the room lacked privacy and space for personal items. The overall feel was like a ship's cabin.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YesIwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Hi “YesIwillgo”,

The design of the citizenM rooms was inspired in a luxury Yacht cabin where it has everything you need for a short stay. Space is a premium nowadays so we focused on what is really important using the best material – XL king-size bed with luxurious Frette linen takes over the entire back of room (even the tallest person on Earth sleeps comfortably), a power rain shower, free wi-fi and movies on demand which we think should be free elsewhere too. Traveling light, the large drawer under the bed fits a samsonite bag, open, while hangers can be used for a jacket, shirt and jeans.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location, a short walk from the train station and bus station. Shops all around so we were not stuck for anything we needed. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the hotel room which we were disappointed with but you could get some in the canteen. we went across the road to Greggs. 2 minutes from the hotel there is a great Irish Bar called Molly Malones, we had a great night in there. Also across the road from there is a nightclub called the savoy where drinks were £1.50. Plenty of eating places during the day and night, chip shops and kebabs open till the early hours of the morning. All in all a great weekend.

Room Tip: I imagine the room are all identical, only the view would differ.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lgdarzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews