We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUNKY, MODERN UP TO DATE HOTEL”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the weekend. Staff are so helpful and really nice. Hotel is so funky and modern and very clean. Rooms are different and a wee bit small but don't let that put you off, only thing is no bins in bedroom. Breakfast is good but trays a bit small and the biggest let down which i think needs to be changed asap when you are paying £99 is plastic Knifes and forks at breakfast, not good !! Loved this hotel and will 100% be back and thumbs up 2 the brilliant staff :-))

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,198)
There are newer reviews for citizenM Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,371 - 4,377 of 5,198 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is my second stay at the CitizenM in Glasgow and won't be my last. Super comfy 7ft square bed and James Bond style gadgets to satisfy the biggest tech heads. Electric blinds, Phillips Moodpad to control the light colours, heating, alarm and tv. There are a wide range of on-demand movies if you want. If you book in advance then is cheaper than the other chains and a much better bet. Really good location and parking is 1 block away. I hope CitizenM build hotels in every city :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougiet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Fantastic hotel and would recommend anybody to stay here, very unusual but this adds to your visit, great shower and huge bed. My only negative would be the plastic knives and forks in the dinning room for breakfast were difficult to use, and also the breakfast was not hot enough. Other than that it was a great stay and really handy for the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed Sunday 21 August 2011. New concept of self check in but very easy and smooth with no fuss.

The Hotel definitely has the wow factor. We stayed on the third floor, room 325 which was street facing. From the minute we walked in we felt like Buck Rogers in the 21st Century....biddy biddy. Great use of space (approx 2m x 6m). All you need for a room. Great bed and fab pillows.

Mood pad allows you to control all gadgets in the room, mood lighting, blinds, tv with good range of free movies and radio to suit your mood.

The rooms are very well sound proofed.

We didnt do breakfast but the 24 hour cafe is a great idea.

In summary, great location, great hotel at a good price. We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onemanjazzband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The reason for the title is the size of the bathroom is not much larger than an aircraft toilet. The bedroom has a bed which does not allow room for anything else. No kettlee tea/cofeee in the room.Three coat hangers represent the wardrobe. As someone who spends approximately 30 to 40 weeks a year staying in Hotels I do not understand the rave reviews on the tripadvisor site. On a singular positive note, the bathroom toiletries, although well diluted were quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PAULBWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Hi “PAULBWarrington”,

citizenM started because, as frequent travelers ourselves and spending 50+ nights in hotel rooms every year, we were tired of long check-in time, pay for wifi and having to sleep in large rooms that we don’t need to pay for, walking through (and not making use of) outdated lobbies. We haven’t built our hotels to be traditional, since there are already many other options out there. Instead, we started from scratch keeping in mind what guests really want in a hotel, and a hotel room; the comfort of a home. The reason we choose not to offer tea & coffee facilities in the room was that we could go to the kitchen any time of the day or night, the canteenM is open 24/7, so that we can socialize with the family (other guests and Ambassadors) while drinking a real Italian coffee freshly prepared by our baristas or eat a quick snack – or just sitting in the living rooms to watch tv or spend time reading or browsing a book.

citizenM is a result of luxury where it counts at an affordable rate, but we understand is not everyone’s cup of tea.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed here after travelling from Edinburgh. In Edinburgh I was staying in low-budget university accommdation. Going from there to the luxury of CitizenM was just what I needed. Now when I say luxury, it's all relative. I know this is not a super exclusive, expensive hotel, but they tick all the boxes.

Location wise, it is very close to everything. It's at the tip of the city centre, but you can very easily walk to George Square etc. The Glasgow School of Art and the Willow tea rooms are just a couple of blocks away. The hotel is located on the first floor. The ground floor is the members only area (probably business types) and the doors to the entrance are not clearly marked, but hey that adds to the mystique.

The rooms are actually quite small, but they are well designed so that they fit quite a lot in. I am also little, and I was staying there by myself so it felt spacious to me. There is no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities, but you don't really need it as you are right near many coffee/tea places. Everything is controlled by a remote, so you can turn on the lights, bring down the blinds, turn on the TV and affect the air con with the remote. I was a little surprised when I walked in, my bed looked like it wasn't made. As in the pillows were bunched up and the duvet was folded up and bunched towards the centre of the bed. I arrived at around 2.30pm so it was the start of the check in time so I wasn't sure if that affected it, so i left my bags and went for a walk. When I came back they were the in the same position so perhaps that's just the way it was meant to be. Anyway the bed was really comfortable and it was lovely to sleep there. It has a shower, not a bath but it has different coloured lighting so that was quite cool. Overall room was lovely. Very modern, funky and massive towels as well!

The main areas of the hotel are brilliant. I loved it. It is modern but stylish and comfortable. They have really interesting bits of furniture and many different spaces where you can relax in. I didn't eat or drink in the bar/food area (why would you when you have all of Glasgow to eat and drink in) but it looked nice.

It's almost like a self check-in system. They have someone there to help if you need it but you literally grab a card and put your name in. Same as checking out. So that was unusual. So when you get to the first floor there is no traditional reception desk.

I would definitely recommend CitizenM. It's reasonably priced, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are lovely, the common areas are so very cool and it's centrally located.

Room Tip: Modern, funky but comfortable!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mixedlollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We enjoyed most aspects of the citizenM Hotel in Glasgow. The room was an okay size albeit small, the bed was very comfortable if not easily assessible, the toilet and shower `pod`was cool and the mood pad was fun. The location was great - close to the Buchanan bus station (about a 3 block walk) and the Scot Rail station. We chose this hotel for these two reasons and we were kind of awed by the modernness and funky atmosphere of the hotel. Unfortunately, when we arrived they were experiencing computer problems and in a hotel like this, that is deadly. There was no access to check-in and we were asked to wait `5 minutes`that turned out to be more like 15 or 20 minutes. When we finally were checked in, we went to the room and tried to explore the cool technology. Again, unfortunately, none of the cool technology worked despite my husband being a computer whiz and woeking for quite a while to get it all working. Finally, we called down to the very harried ambassadors to come and fix our TV and mood pad problem. He told us he was busy but that he would come as soon as he could. So we went out for dinner and upon returning to our room were expecting the problem to be solved. No such luck. Thankfully, the still harried ambassador finally came and started everything up for us. After that, the stay was good and comfortable. I guess when you are depending on technology and computers to make your establishment stand out, you`d better be sure there either are no glitches (unreasonable really) or some way to immediately get the glitches sorted out. We did like this hotel and agreed that we would recommend it but with a caveat that if the computers/technology are down, be prepared for some headaches!

Room Tip: Pray the state of the art technology is working
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
776 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,952 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £71 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing