We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'GREAT little hotel in Glasgow'!”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A 'GREAT little hotel in Glasgow'!”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Arrived in Glasgow early the first Thursday of September 2011 from Canada...long flight. Though not able to check-in right away, we asked about good breakfast places in the area, and the front desk staff readily provided their recommendations. Walked a short distance, had a lovely 'brekkie' (where restaurant owner came and talked to us), then were able to check in early (for a modest fee) and get a well needed nap before setting off to tour Glasgow. The hotel room, though very small, was very well appointed, had free WiFi, movies of ALL types, and had many 'nice' touches like changing light colours in the shower area. Bedding / towels of VERY high quality, as were fixtures in general! We would heartily recommend this hotel as a overnight stop for a day or two while exploring Glasgow! p&j

Room Tip: Easy location to get to from Glasgow airport (airport bus to within 2 blocks away). Recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,248
    1,323
    287
    103
    61
See reviews for
251
2,800
322
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Walk in...wow! Check-in...wow! Enter room...wow! Huge bed...wow! Great Shower...wow! Find bar...wow! Staff are friendly, confident, helpful and chatty (rare in hotel staff these days!) I was only staying one night so lack of storage/hanging space wasn't an issue. Bed is huge (and I'm 6' 5" tall) Shower is fantastic. Easy to use and powerful although a little slippy (easily rectified with a hand-towel on the shower floor) Remote control (for everything) takes a bit of getting used to but after a 'typical' bloke reaction (push every button and watch what happens) it's not difficult to get the hang of things. Free movies and internet access is a huge bonus. Will definately be coming back although I would imagine that being cheap, the height of summer might be a bit boisterous with students!

Room Tip: Front rooms probably better than rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerryhill057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

stayed there for two nights everything good checkin very easy with help from freindly confident staff.room good but not enough storage space ie hanging of clothing,dressing table ,bin to small. on the plus side massive bed brilliant shower ,very clean,very good futaristic lighting and tv system. excellent self service breakfast.down side no tea coffee makeing or mini bar.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjones1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I recently stayed in the Citizen M last week. Having stayed here on numerious occasions I always enjoy my visit, however, I was really disapointed about events on my stay. When I arrived my duvet and pillows were lying on the floor and no towels had been left in the room. This was rectified within half an hour by room service, who assured me the room had been serviced, but not fully.
Later in the evening of my stay I was woken by nosiey guests running up and dowm the corridor and with banging on the walls next door. Having an early morning meeting at 6am, this was not appreciated. I complained to reception but very nothing was done.
Overall, this trip has left me considering future travel plans and hotels. I even passed my details onto a member of staff to contact me with regard to my complaints and no-one has been in touch. Sad Loyal Citizen..... ;-(

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 725Sleeper725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Hi "725Sleeper725",

I hope you accept our apologies, and that you understand that the issues you experienced in your last stay was an exception, it doesn't represent our hospitality.

I tried researching your past experience but could not find any information. Since we don't have your full name, it is hard to track your specific stay. I would love if you could email me via citizenDiego@citizenM.com with more information and I will make sure to follow-up.

We are sorry we let you down.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Once you get over the initial confusion when enteriong the hotel it is a refreshing challenge to the traditional hotel model -from checking in to entering the stylish but ultra compact room to getting to grips with the remote control -that controls everything from the electronic blinds to the funky room lights and TV etc . The TV was tricky to use correctly as there appeared to be a wi-fi dead zone with mine which became a frustration due to the delays in response .Everything is very clean & contemporary in the room although more than 1 person per room and it might become cramped after a day or two ?
The eating come bar area was 'different '- clean and well laid out with friendly staff - it appears that only 5 people run the whole show at any 1 time !!- The chill out room areas where the jewel in the crown with 8 x 21 inch Apple computers available to ' citizens' ( that means guests to you & me ) a great finishing touch for a very pleasant stay in the ' Brave New World ' of hotels - HOWEVER .. I wonder would I tire of the slimed down but efficient version of Hotel service after a few more trips - definetly worth checking out but travel light if you can

Room Tip: If you are traveling with BIG Bags then make sure you check with the hotel as there is very limted s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

stayed overnight for our first wedding anniversary - a little confused when we first arrived as didnt know where to go but were quickly seen to by a friendly member of staff who showed us just how easy it was to sign in and explained about the hotel. On arrival into our room we were stunned with the lovely view over the city - we were in room 719 right at the top. We were also greeted with 2 empty champagne flutes and a note to say "Happy Anniversary please take me to the bar and fill me up" lovely wee suprise. The room was funky, clean and although no frills it was pretty awesome with the mood changing remote which we messed about with for ages :)

Overall really enjoyed the vibe of the hotel and the friendly staff, would highly reccommend. x

Room Tip: higher floors offer great views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weentty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel has quickly became my favourite to stay in when visiting Glasgow. It is stylish, vibrant and different form any other place I have stayed in. Great central location, easy self check-in computer system, staff are there to help if you have any problems. Great restaurant and funky seating area. Rooms have a HUGE comfortable bed the entire size of the room, this is great although it doesnt leave much walking space...but who needs to be walking around their hotel room? Lighting system enables you to change the colour of the lights and the blinds creating a great ambiance, many tv channels on your large flat screen tv with a wide selection of movies and music. There is also a docking station which will charge your ipod/iphone as it plays your music. Do not have a single complaint about this hotel, only wish there were more of them!! Recommend to couples or groups friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YasLonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
609 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,618 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing