We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Citizen M is the best hotel... I'd stay in any CitizenM hotel anywhere!”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Citizen M is the best hotel... I'd stay in any CitizenM hotel anywhere!”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Love it. I wasn't too sure at first, I was thinking it was aimed a bit young for me... but it's luxury all the way, and for this old broad that's a handy thing. HUGE bed, and comfortable (and I'm fussy), gorgeous lighting, great TV system and integrated system. Lots of people talk about the room being small, but I've been in huge rooms that are more poorly organised. There was somewhere for everything. And the bathroom looks small, but again it's sort of not, it has a rainshower thing, which was amazing!!!

I stayed here twice in October (two nights, then one night). The first time it was by train, the second time with a car. I wasn't too sure about the car, cos they don't have parking, BUT they have formal arrangements with two secure parking stations nearby and its still heaps cheaper and just as easy to park and take luggage over to CitizenM than to stay at a more expensive place (and probably still have to pay for parking). I thought it would be a budget hotel, but it really did feel like a luxury place. Gorgeous! It's right in the middle of town, just near all of the important places, and an easy bus (or a really long walk as I did) to KelvinGrove... but, yeah, right in the middle of the city. The only negative about the place is that they have decided not to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room, I dunno, I think this might be a bit of an error, because it's fiddly first thing to go down and get a coffee in the lobby (which was good, but, yeah, it's my only niggling thing. The Ambassador and checkin process was great too... lovely and helpful people.

If you're in Glasgow, you'd be mad to stop elsewhere! I'd put up photos, but to be honest, the place looks exactly like the photos on their website. Exactly. No beat up. The only other thing is that I am really noisephobic and the place is QUIET (and I stayed on a Friday and a Saturday night). Great!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,219
    1,309
    281
    102
    58
See reviews for
250
2,767
322
793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We enjoyed our night in this great place.The concept is delivered well.Lorraine liked the lighting and the great big bed,but beware it is quite high, so difficult to get on or off if you have drunk too much or are not able bodied.The breakfast is pretty good but it is strange that you can have either a hot or a cold drink but not both.The friendly approachable staff were helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTATTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is a really nice and modern hotel (approx 3 years old). we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel. It is located in the city centre with 5 min walk to the underground station.
it has a marvellous bed and great shower. very helpful staff and free internet.
Will go back and recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on Mon 17th and Tues 18th of October and loved it!

Check in was made easy with staff on hand to help you through the process, you also had the ability to choose a courtyard or city view, we chose courtyard thinking it would be quieter.

The room is a perfectly adequate size for a short stay away, with large drawers for storage. Mood pad was great, and we had great fun trying out all the lights. The bed was huuuge, felt like I had a bed to myself even though I was sharing with my BF. The shower was amazing, I honestly could have spent hours in there. Tv with the free movies was great, especially since the Monday night was a very rainy night.

The bar and lounge area was so cool. We had great fun in the chair by the window which was more liek a climbing frame. Was nice to have a few drinks in the hotel after the gig we weer at on the Tuesday, and the cocktail was lovely.

Did not have any food, but was on offer looked good.

Would definaetly stay here again and reccomend it to everyone. Really could not fault it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicflo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel is just amazing.

Pros:
Rooms: they are small but everything is in there. We loved the wall-to-wall king bed and the color changing LED in the shower. Free movies are also a great deal since we got some heavy rain days on our stay.
Canteen/bar: maybe not as good as a restaurant but handy, especially the fruit salads on the morning.

Cons:
The neighborhood is kind of noisy at night.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toussaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

CitizenM is a new breed of ultra-modern hotel, and it was with trepidation that I booked it!
Some of these hotels sacrifice substance for style, with 'coolness' translating to aloofness.

At CitizenM, I needn't have worried.

Check in is self service, but it's very easy and there are friendly staff to help you.
You keycard doubles as a luggage label as you can take it with you (and reuse it for your next stay!)
The room is on the small size, with the bed taking up one end of the room.
There's a very nice shower unit, with "AM" and "PM" shower gels (exhilarating/relaxing) which you can also buy from their online shop.
The bed is super comfy, with a cosy duvet and plump pillows provided too. The remote control allows you to alter the mood lighting in the room, operate the blinds, black out curtain and TV. Free movies and WiFi are also provided.
A superb breakfast was also offered the next morning, you can prepay this at check in and get a cheaper rate (£6.95) and the only downside was that if the hotel is very busy, I couldn't see that the breakfast area would be big enough for everyone.
A welcome addiion to the hotel scene in Glasgow!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Have just spent a great weekend in Glasgow staying at CitizenM. This really is a unique experience. From the moment we arrived the "ambassadors" (mustn't call them staff!!) were really friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. The lounge is split into several contrasting areas from squashy sofas to "uber cool" seating which quite frankly can be described as "challenging!!"
The rooms are on the small side but with the best use of space I have ever come across, the bed is really comfortable and as for the rain power shower......wow!!.
The hotel is situated in the sought after loction of Renfrew Street/Hope Street allowing easy access to all the main shops and bars in the middle of the city.
I would have gladly given this hotel the top rating but the lack of storage space and tea/coffee making facilities in the room means I can only rate it as very good. I would however strongly recommend it to travellers seeking an affordable hotel in the area and will most certainly book in here again on my next visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayzee_darl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing