We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central Glasgow”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I've stayed at CitizenM several times and every time it's the same - Great! Fab rooms (small but perfectly designed), awesome shower....complete with funky lighting! Brilliant friendly staff who make you feel welcome. I'd recommend Citizen to anyone looking for a great hotel in Glasgow...... and it costs the same as many budget chain hotels!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majikjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,064 - 4,070 of 5,245 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Self check-in was so quick and easy, it made me wonder why more hotels don't operate this way! The room was amazing - plenty space for suitcases or shopping bags, huge comfy bed, everything controlled by the ultra modern mood pad (well, almost everything...you still have to flush the toilet yourself!!!). The 'living rooms' were great - trendy spaces where you can sit and enjoy a drink, read a newspaper, search the net on one of the iMacs, or just look out the window and chill out.

Tip - pick a street view room at check in...can't beat a bit of people watching, especially when you're looking at Sauchiehall Street on a Saturday night! And despite the fact that you're right on the street, the soundproofing means you still get a great sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RugbygirlXV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a part-business/part-leisure trip.

Start with the positive: excellent central location within easy walking distance of most Glasgow attractions and a good selection of restaurants, bars, shops and transport links. Friendly and helpful staff (but it is Glasgow - the friendly city - after all ...), but not that many to be seen; decent selection of TV channels and free movies (some pretty recent, but not sure why more than half need to be hardcore porn ...).

Now the less good: it strikes me that there is a pretty clever business model in operation here. How do you get people to pay a reasonable (not expensive, but not cheap) price for a very small hotel room (the bed takes-up a large part of the room), with extremely limited facilities (no tea/coffee; very small desk; no wardrobe just a very shallow alcove; small sink situated in the room itself; and an en-suite which is basically just a shower cubicle with a toilet next to it)? Answer: you fit a funky mood-matching lighting system and remote control to close the blinds and dim the lights and give the hotel some pseudo-revolutionary motif.

It might (and from other reviews it does) appeal to some, but quite frankly I just didn't get it! Call me a boring old f*rt, but I'd go for comfort and convenience over style and slogan every time. I like to have my tea and coffee in the room. I like to see a friendly face when checking in and out (it's all automated at this place).

Should also say that the rooms are not brilliantly sound-proofed, so take earplugs if a light sleeper.

Next time I'm in town I'll see if I can get a decent deal at the Grand Central or book into a Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter, but soundproofing a problem throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I booked this for a work trip because it had such amazing reviews on TripAdvisor. I can see why people like it so much, but it definitely had its downsides.

So the remote-controlled room thing: that's funky. I had lots of fun making the lights dance around and opening and closing the blinds. If you like to pretend you're one of the X-Men, you're gonna love this place. Seriously, enjoy pretending to be Magneto or whatever. I didn't do that, but now I wish I had. Damn.

Anyway, moving on: the TV crashed over and over when I first checked in and reception had to reset my whole room. Rooms as a whole should not have to be reset. Sitting in the dark while your TV gets its head together is no fun. When it was reset, the TV refused to give me sound. Reception's answer? Turn it on and off again. Amazing.

But then it worked and I was happy. Lots of channels and films, although not too many recent films. I enjoyed Bridesmaids. There's also a crap load of porn if that kinda thing interests you.

The shower is the best shower known to mankind. I wanted to take it home. Ladies, if you waste half your getting-ready time washing your hair, you're going to love this place - you can be in and out in minutes. Loved it.

The bed was massive but I had two crappy nights sleep. The first night it was because some creep heard my friend say my room number and then followed me there. Ugh. Get away from my door, moron, it was not a subtle pick-up line. That's not the hotel's fault, although it would have been nice to have some sort of security who kept an eye on the entrance - reception is on the first floor so pretty much anyone can waltz in and stalk the halls. I didn't feel terribly safe there, I have to say.

What is the hotel's fault was the noisy aircon which I just could. not. turn. off. Yes, well done, your rooms are fururistic and junk, but all I wanted was an aircon box on the wall with a damn OFF button. I ended up calling reception at 2am like a pathetic girly girl. They were very nice to me, and told me I had to set the temperature to a certain line on the handset and in 15 minutes it would shut up. So unintuitive. I'm a tech-savvy girl and I struggled, so I hate to think how anyone who's scared of technology would cope.

My other teeny moan was with the room description. Courtyard view, huh? Let's be honest, the word 'courtyard' is used here to describe some scrapland with some bits of wood on it. There's no courtyard. It's just not facing the main road.

Negatives aside, the staff are super friendly and helpful. What a lovely bunch. And I quite enjoyed flicking through some quality Taschen literature in the strange Ikea living-room-but-actually-a-bar area.

To sum up: a great place to stay if you're tech-savvy and like showering. Definitely an experience. Not sure I'd book again, though.

Room Tip: My colleague had a street-facing room and said it was kinda noisy, so go for the 'courtyard'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professional_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Hi “Professional_Fan”,

Thank you for sharing your experience at citizenM here on Trip Advisor.

I do apologise that TV crashed, I agree with you that rooms should not be reset but simply work, living up to its technology. Free movies on demand are changed often and we keep a mix selection of latest movies and classics. I will investigate the current selection.

Safety of our guests is taken very seriously, with a cctv system in place and cameras throughout the property. There are security guards during the night making regular checks in all floors, we restrict access from 10pm every night by residents only accessing the front door. We believe this was an isolate case not to be repeated. On the other hand, for anything that needs our immediate attention please, make sure to communicate to an Ambassador, who can also be reached via the room telephone.

All in all, I appreciate you enjoyed the experience at the hotel but we feel sorry we let you down. Next time visiting us, please, feel free to email me directly and we will make it up for that, so that you can enjoy our full citizenM hospitality.

All the best,
citizenDiego
@citizenM.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Remote controlled features in the room is awesome. And the price is cheap!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m3lvinlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I booked CitizenM largely off the back of all the amazing reviews in TripAdvisor. The hotel doesn't disappoint visually and truly is stunning to wander round. However the rooms are TINY, granted the beds are on the large side which is great but there is nowhere much to hang up your clothes or open up your suitcases and settle into your stay.
My main gripe though is with the shower/toilet 'room' - the walls are translucent and due to the flimsiness of the door there is zero privacy when you're on the toilet. No matter how well you know you're travelling companion, you don't need to know that much(!)
But credit where it's due - check-in/out is super fast and simple, the bar does amazing cocktails, there's big comfy chairs and flat screen tvs and access to iMacs. The location is also a big bonus. Have to saw though it wasn't as cheap as the reviews here had lead me to believe....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We spent one night at CitizenM in Glasgow last weekend because we thought it would be a different experience. It was! All decor and furniture were very modernistic. The room was quite narrow - just the width of a king-size bed - but the bed was amazingly comfortable and you could set it up to sleep in any direction - we put our heads to the window. We had fun changing the colors of the lighting over the bathroom "pod" and I liked being able to adjust the room temperature. The shower was great, everything was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast was self-service but the food was hot and good and ample.

The staff was welcoming and friendly. I thought the kiosk system for check-in was unnecessary as the staff had to hover around to assist anyway, would have been just as fast to have checked in at a regular reception desk. But it wasn't a problem, really.

Having the CitizenM doll Malik in our room was a humorous touch. The dolls were available for sale downstairs but too pricey.

All in all, we enjoyed CitizenM and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at another one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
836 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,348 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £74 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing