We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic for a weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic for a weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We recently stayed for 1 night this month and was utterly amazed!

10 minute taxi ride away, in rush hour traffic, but we found the next day it was only a 10 minute walk away from Glasgow Queen Street station. The hotel was amazing from the outside and was very interesting on the inside. Very modern decorated with comfy lounge seats and TVs around.

The on line check-in was very simple and there was no issues at all, very simple to add extras such as breakfast or a late check-out. We also got the choice of 2 different rooms on different flours!

The room was slightly compact, but for 2 people it was very adequate, and there were lots of nice touches. The mood-board fascinated my partner and he played with the lights in the bathroom for around an hour. The remote may be tricky for non-techy people, but it isn't that difficult to work out the basics such as the lights and blinds. The bed was super comfy, quite high, and the quilts were brilliant. I was very happy to also find extra pillows in the drawer under the bed too! The only little, tiny, thing I saw wrong was the white headboard had some black smudges and scuffs on it.

The staff were lovely! All of them were polite and chatted to all the customers. We went to find some food, which I struggled to find but I was looking for something particular! But the choice was good, and the drinks were brilliant. We got talking to a lovely bar staff who was very nice and helped us find the best cocktails and had a good natter with my partner about the marketing of the hotel.

After our event, around 1am, we took advantage of the 24/7 cafe and brought 3 friends back to enjoy food and cocktails with us. All of them are now planning to stay there next time they go to Glasgow, and we are already planning a trip to see the Amsterdam one!

Check out was very simple and we were done in 5 minutes! Can't wait to revisit and take advantage of the location!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,148
    1,275
    279
    100
    58
See reviews for
244
2,697
316
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed for one night with my hubby. Location of the hotel is great, centre of town and easy reach to everything.

The hotel is very impressive, stylish and very relaxed. I really like the concept of the hotel and it is super modern.

The lobby area is very cool and comfortable and the bar prices are reasonable for a hotel. Fantastic French martini!!

The bed is the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel and the shower is amazing!! The lighting is cool and you can set to any mood. Tv has a wide choice of channels and free movies on demand (including porn if that floats your boat). The self service check in and out is fantastic! The only things I would say that got to me was the window couldn't be opened so felt a little closed in, the rooms are advertised as soundproof, they are not and some plank set the smoke alarm off at 1 am!

All in all it was a fantastic hotel and I highly recommend to others if you want a simple, hassle free and stylish break.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiset270982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My daughter and I had an overnight stay here and we loved it....the whole concept is something very different. The place is immaculately clean to the point that the room is quite clinical but the ambient lighting saves the day there. The room is on the small side but for two people staying one or two nights it is perfect - any longer might be a different story. The extra large bed with superb linen and big fluffy pillows is to die for. We loved the 'moonpad' which controlled everything at the touch of a button from putting lights on/off, blinds up/down, room temperature up/down, to complete control of the tv/movies - all without moving from the big comfy bed. There was even a docking station so bring your iPod!! The 'rainshower' and huge, thick, fluffy towels were fabulous. We did not have breakfast so cannot comment on that but we did have a couple of cocktails which were delicious and not too expensive. All in all we had a great experience and loved the whole concept & cleanliness of the Hotel and would definitely stay here again....above all the price did not break the bank!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor to the rear of the building but that did not bother us we were not there fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for my 30th birthday. Can not fault the place. Staff were fantastic, made us feel very welcome and were happy to assist. Will definitely be back. Well done! :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahlucas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Had an excellnt one night stay. The rooms were small but brilliant. Spent most of the night playing with the remote control and watching the free movies. The room changes colour!! The bed was amazing. The decor of the lobby was really funky. We had such a good time here would go back in a second. Its also a really good location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnylolliepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

A cool, colorful funky, hi-tech design hotel. Someone described it as Ikea-on-speed. Young, smiling, helpful staff; young, casually dressed clientele, average age about 30.The reception area is splendid : whacky seating, tables with upright chairs, a library feel to the place. Nice. Not keen on constant music/musak. Maybe the management should have the confidence to have quiet sections in this large space. Standard rooms small: think Japanese pod. The first one we were allocated had a malfunctioning blind. The bigger better room lost its curtain rail by the second morning. The huge,comfortable bed took up the whole width of the room. So you need to negotiate how to climb in and out, especially if there are two of you !Plasticky, hard single "armchair", no bin.Tiny alcove hanging space.
Loved the bar: great cocktails,lovely floor-to-ceiling windows to enjoy the urban landscape, poor and expensive food to go. The hotel is right next to the Theatre Royal, and a 5-minute walk to the Glasgow School of Art. Buchanan St metro station a similar distance away.
NB some museums/galleries (eg Kelvingrove Art Gallery) dont open till 11:00 on a Friday.
On the whole citizenM was a positive experience and certainly good fun.

Room Tip: Make sure you are good with a remote control ! Get a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel on an excellent mid week rate, its location is brilliant and its one cool and trendy place to stay! The bar is brilliant selling great cocktails and unusual bottles of beers, staff are very friendly and the ambience is great! The rooms are functional not luxury but strangely really great, huge bed and all the gadgets in the room make it a fab place to stay! Totally loved the mood lights and the free films! Will def be back !

I would advise anyone to give this place a go, I am sure you will go back!

Only thing I missed was being able to make a coffee in the room !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cburg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing