We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wpuld recommend this place.”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to hit the sales and see a panto. Firstly it was a great location and easy to find from the train station. Staff were also friendly and helpful on arrival to show us how to use the self check in machine. Once used we went up to our room which was small but nice for a two night stay. Room was a little cold but can be adjusted on the control beside the bed. Free movies were good and free and there was something for everyone. Shower was good however there was only one tiny bin in the whole room so would say to take a carrier bag to put any rubbish into instead of messing up the room. Breakfast was good too. Will definitely be staying here next time in Glasgow :) lovely decor and didn't look run down at all!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,543 - 3,549 of 5,330 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Great room , great service! Would reccomend it! Might not b everyone's taste as it very modern but we loved it! Bed were very comfy! Glasses in the room would have been nice but not a big issue! Loved the remote that did everything:) very happy customers!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vdebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I'm all up for modern hotels, but this one took it three steps further. First, there is no reception desk - it's four terminals where someone helps you check in (which was kind of cool). The room wasn't large, but it was contemporary - the end of the room was essentially the whole bed - there wasn't any sheets, but a large comforter. Everything was run by either remote control or wall switches - the toilet and shower were behind a frosted glass curved area. The coolest thing was the on Demand TV - with 7 pages of movies (3 pages of adult movies mixed in though - so not sure if that is your thing or not). Probably the thing that sucked the most was the iron - it's at the end of the hallway, a mini half board bolted to the wall with a non-steam iron. Not good for a business meeting prep and felt a bit like I was back at University. Overall, some cool things, but probably not enough for me to come back to it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffs_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 January 2013

Hi "jeffs_7",

Thanks for sharing your experience at citizenM with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor.

We looked at the hospitality industry and re-defined it based on the wants and needs of mobile travellers like you, who value the luxury where it counts. I mean, contemporary ambients to work and lounge, a room that is smart in size & technology, free Wi-Fi, free movies on demand, 24/7 food & beverage outlet and others.

Please accept our apologies regarding the iron, we are looking into improve our current setup for 2013 so you will have a better option when returning.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

It's like a space-age hotel; everything is modern and very 21st century. The room itself is small, but the shower has changing lights which my partner enjoyed playing with. The set up of the TV and the bed is great, and what was excellent were the amount of movies available to watch for free. This was a definite plus. However, the room is extremely small, with the basin on the outside of the bathroom because it won't fit in the bathroom itself. Also a little note, if you're travelling with a partner and your a little shy, the shower is seethrough, so don't expect much privacy. Great for one night, wouldn't recommend anymore than that for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordan-may16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This hotel was weirdest place I have ever stayed. Right from self check in to the ridiculously small room that is half filled by a humongous bed that you did not know which way to sleep. You had to make your own bed. Everything was operated by a remote control! Glad I stayed here myself and for one night. It was like a high tech hostel at hotel prices! Never again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patchpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 January 2013

Hi "Patchpup",

It's different. We created citizenM in our own style and décor, and while there are so many hotels out there, we are one option to choose from. I understand and respect it doesn't satisfy everyone.

Modern travellers, so us, enjoy getting lost in big beds, hence the XL king-size bed covered with luxurious linen. It's indeed so large that can confuse you in choosing a position to sleep. The bed is made every morning by our housekeeping team, placing the blankets and pillows in the middle of it so that you can choose how best to use it. As you noticed, we don't dictate the way you sleep.

Wish you great experiences in your future.

citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We were very happy with our choice of hotel when we stayed at the CitizenM Glasgow in March. It was the perfect choice for us as it was quirky and had lots of tech.

The other reviews do cover it all, i would just like to add a few things.

The storage we had was more than sufficient for a suitcase and two large bags. We also hung clothes up and it didnt feel cramped.

This is a hotel for couples, or close friends, or people travelling alone. There is one large bed, and the rooms are very intimate.

I loved the hotel, and plan to stay at this one and possibly others in the group too. 10/10

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSenkyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This has to be the coolest hotel in the city. Everything is different from the moment you arrive: entrance mat says, "nice shoes"; notice by lift welcomes weary travellers; no real reception area- check in on first floor. There are deigner books to browse, applemac computers free to use, free wifi in rooms, lots of lovely quotes in the corridors. I love it. The rooms are really small, but so perfectly designed that they are just what the traveller needs: a big comfy bed, a clean room, a good shower, fluffy towels, TV with free movies, and even coloured lights that you can change by remote control. Your room key is yours to keep, and becomes a luggage tag, and remembers the settings you chose for heating, lights, etc. the only flaw is that there is no tea/coffee in the room. You need to go to the bar ( which is also trendy). Oh, and it's in aperfect location for theatre lovers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,358 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
4,044 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £69 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing