We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We booked this hotel for a short stay in Glasgow to celebrate a birthday. We had never stayed before, but had heard good things about it, so thought why not. When I booked online, I mentioned that it was a surprise birthday gift, not thinking any more about it.

We arrived at the hotel, and had been warned that it was not a usual check in - you need to go to the first floor, where there are self service check in desks - however, there were a few members of staff to greet us, and asked if we had stayed before - when we said it was our first visit, we were given all the help and assistance we needed to complete our check in, and advice on hotel facilities. He wasn't intrusive at all, and was really welcoming and friendly.

We went to our room to be greeted by a happy birthday message, with an invite to go to the bar to enjoy a complimentary drink each - what a lovely touch!!!

The room itself, as has been outlined by other guests, isn't huge, however does have everything in it that you need, including an excellent entertainment system, the most comfy bed you could wish for (with extra pillows if needed) an amazing shower, and all the mood lighting, music and mod cons you could ask for in a short break - if I had to pick a downside, it could only be that there isn't a huge amount of storage space if you had a lot of luggage/clothing etc, but for a short break, it's perfect.

Unfortunately, we never had a chance to eat at the hotel, but the menu's were extensive, and there is plenty of space for you to chill out and relax in the numerous seating areas throughout.

We did have a few drinks at the bar, and again, could not fault the service or attitude of the staff - very friendly and welcoming.

All in all, a great place for a weekend away, and we look forward to heading back here. Highly recommended :-)

Room Tip: Higher floors give great views over the city - especially if they are at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korky1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,213
    1,307
    281
    102
    58
See reviews for
250
2,764
319
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Had the very great pleasure of spending a night at citizenM in Glasgow. As I live in Glasgow, I'd passed it a couple of times and was curious, so checked the web to see more info. I find the concept completely fascinating and must say for me it works completely. I particularly like the idea of self check in and self check out, though there are staff members there to help if you get stuck. The beautifully stylish surroundings make for a pleasant and relaxed stay, I was able to pick of a Richard Avedon book from the shelf and browse through it while having a cold beer, check my website and go on Facebook in the Mac Suite and generally just really enjoyed spending time in such a well considered, relaxing environment. In the room, I loved that everything was controlled from the handset, I particularly liked the way lighting mood could be adjusted by touching the colour on the handset screen, wonderful. Staff were ALL very helpful and courteous and I will definitely stay again and if I'm in London or Amsterdam would use those over any other hotel, now that I know how it works. I would highly recommend citizenM, it's different, but I think that's the point.

Room Tip: At self check in the screen offered me two rooms, one with a city view or one with a forecourt view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2013

we loved our stay in the citizen m. the place was immaculate and staff were very friendly and helpful. One of the reasons i booked this hotel is because it looked so funky and we were not dissapointed by the design! so modern. The bed was the comfiest i have slept in and i debated taking a pillow home (oj) as it was amazing to sleep on! All in all a clean, funky and friendly hotel that im sure we will book again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

What a surprise, great location, funky room and possibly the most helpful staff in the hotel business ! Rapid check in, great room, free movies, short walk to everything, the only downside was my inability to operate the remote to get the light in the shower to work without all the other lights coming on !

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The rooms are small but they are perfectly formed for a 1 or 2 night city break, any longer and you would want to kill each other!! The shower is amazing and the bed is huge and comfy, only thing is they need to get normal sized pillows instead of square ones! The mood lighting is cool and the free movies are up to date and excellent although some are slightly inappropriate so if you are with a child then maybe don't let them see the movie list! Overall a good stay! Only small problems were a few crumbs in the bed, sorted with a wipe down and the fact the door isn't soundproofed like the walls! I didn't really appreciate getting woken up at 8 by someone hoovering outside my room!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmad2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

As a business traveller I don't think I've stayed in a better hotel in this country. Every area of the hotel is stylish and contemporary, with all you need as a 21st Century guest. The rooms are inexpensive but don't expect poor furnishing or a lack of mod cons. The shower is fabulous, the bed sumptuous and the lighting glorious. The hotel is in a central location with decent food, a nice bar and a decent ambience. I will definitely stay here again and I have stayed in a lot of Glasgow's apparently finest hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed at Citizen in November for business. The hotel is very stylish and unique and offers good facilities such as an I mac computer area. The rooms are not that large but are Laid out well and the bed is very comfortable. I would say the only reason you would not want to stay here is if you have lots of luggage or like traditional hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing