We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
FIFE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Second time stayed here, great decor, funky, rooms are ace , massive bed. Had the breakfast and no complaints all well cooked, friendly staff, central to Glasgow City centre, ideal for couples . Oh and the cocktails are gid tae !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLYBONGO82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,187
    1,294
    281
    101
    58
See reviews for
249
2,736
319
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel was certainly different from what I'd previously experienced in other hotels I've stayed in.

First thing to hit you when you walk in is how funky it is. All pretty much self service and definitely with a character all of it's own. As we'd never been to a CitizenM hotel before we were left wondering what to do when we arrived. You enter through the doors on the ground floor with no reception and only 2 lifts and a spiral staircase near 2 sets of doors labelled "Members Only".

Up to the first floor to self service check in where you programme your own rook key/card and then get the lifts up to whichever room you've been allocated. You have to swipe the key in the lifts to get up to your floor. The lift won't move until it 'knows' you've checked in and are a guest.

The rooms themselves are basic but well designed and laid out. No kettles, irons etc but apparently there are ironing boards in the cupboards at the ends of the corridors. the beds in the rooms are MASSIVE, probably the biggest I've ever slept in. Defo super kingsize if not bigger. The toilet/shower area is set within a frosted glass enclosure with neon lighting which can be controlled by the Samsung Tablet in the room. It controls the TV, blinds, curtains, all lighting and the air conditioning too. It takes a bit of playing around with the controls but they're not too hard to figure out.

Each room has free movies and internet available and the entertainment system can be set to give you an alarm wake up call.

The only down side was that the air conditioning system was faulty while we were there. The first night we stayed the temperature was fine but on the 2nd night it was absolutely roasting. Even with no covers on it was an unbearable heat, despite the in room control being set to the absolute minimum available. As the system was faulty there wasn't anything that could be done resulting in next to no sleep and a thumping sore head the next morning.

All in all the hotel was really individual and well worth the stay. It was different from any I had stayed in before and I'd definitely go back. The location was ideal too, only a 5-10 minute walk from numerous bars/pubs/clubs and restaurants. The air con couldn't be helped so if that had been ok the weekend would have been fantastic.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor which afforded great views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevMcAuley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Coming from Edinburgh Airport for the visit of the Vettriano Exhibition, we wanted an hotel that was easy to get to, with a good quality of service and comfort.

I booked the Citizen M because of its very central location, very close to lively areas (dining, shopping, cinemas, theaters, concert hall) as well as transportation (bus and train stations), wondering how the hotel would be as it was not expensive at all for its category (80 pounds for the night + 2 breakfasts).

Wow ! We really liked it : the rooms are very small, with the bed stuck between the big window and the 2 walls around. But the design is very intelligent and comfortable : there is a bathroom (well a shower/toilet room) with a translucid wall. Free wifi is included. You get a tablet to pilot all room equipment : heating, blinds, music, TV (including free movies among a big eclectic selection : comedy, action, romance, adult,..), lights (intensity and colours).

Near the bed, there is still some place for a small table and chair to work or drop your stuff.
In the entrance corridor of the room, there is a washbasin.
The entrance corridor can be separated from the bed / desk area by a curtain. The pictures on the website will give you a fair idea.

In the public areas of the hotel, you can find free to use equipment : ironing, computers (iMacs) and printers, books,.. There is also a very comfy lounge that is closer to a living room than to a classic hotel lounge.

Breakfast was also excellent (including perfect black sausages..).

If you don't need a pool, or spa treatments, and can live with a small modern room, you should have no hesitation : this is a luxury hotel, but with a very low price. In other hotels, I sometimes paid 4 times the price for a service significantly lower and a very standard room (bigger but with no charm).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was good. It is funky and looks good with its own modern character which was nice. Check in was easy and quick giving the customer full control. Even got to pick our view.

We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food.
Our room was brilliant. The bed is amazing I loved how big it was. The shower pod was a good size and really fun with changing colours. I really really loved the rainforest shower. I want one in my house. The hotel have used the space they have well and the rooms are narrow but do not feel cramped. My partner and I had plenty of room.

I would not however share a room with a friend the shower / toilet pod is not the most privet or sound proof.

My only upset was I accidentally left my green lovely warm scarf in the lobby and someone took it not handing it in to reception which was sad. So watch your stuff in open areas.

Apart from that a brilliant stay and I would stay in a citizenM again without hesitation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannahkt90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMGlasgow, General Manager at citizenM Glasgow, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi Hannah,

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you back again soon. I may have some good news about your favourite scarf... We have a checked, cotton green scarf which was handed in by someone who picked it up by mistake. It is not so warm, but definitely green and I thought it might be yours? We can send it to you if you like. Please email us directly and we can arrange this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have stayed here with my partner on 5 occasions and each and every time it has been great.

The location is perfect as it is right in the heart of Glasgow City centre. It allows you to eat out, drink and/or go shopping, cinema viewing or whatever else you want to do and not have to travel very far.

The rooms are very spacious, modern and stylish. The bed is exceptionally comfy. Not to mention the large television, the channels, free movies, free wifi and a tablet to use. This sets it apart from other hotels.

The lounge area is brilliant for lazing about or socialising aswell as picking up a bite to eat and drink.

The staff are always helpful (always willing to resolve any problem - no matter how big or small) and never have a dull face. The security guard is a character and very funny - well worth a chat to.

I have some minor problems however and I do stress that they are minor.

1) The pricing of the alcoholic beverages is very, very expensive and not advertised well enough on the menu's.

2) The hotel does not advertise the car park discount well enough, so much so that I had to find out from a friend that this was offered by the hotel.

Apart from these problems, I would say this hotel is exceptional and perfect for everyone/all occasions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pretentious_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Really loved staying here, great value for money, staff were very helpful and friendly, room was amazing, will definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family.its in great location and very central to pubs, clubs, shops and to train stations and bus stations.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bexster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Having just spent 3 nights here with my partner ,including Hogmanay. This was a fantastic place you can keep the rest of your boring all looking the same hotels... From check in to check out there are staff to look after you ,always with a smile on there faces and a little chat as well. The décor is fab ,with the high fancy chairs to the man having a rest on top of the entrance door roof lol .The one small thing I didn't like was the narrowness of the room we were 1st put into but thanks to Max we were sorted out as my partner feels claustrophobia. The mood lighting controlled lights along with a hugh bed and wall mounted tv were great however. Breakfast was really good for choice also. All in all a great pace that we would go back to great design great feel but more importantly staff that really care and know how to be with customers.

Room Tip: take a couple of extra hangers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stu808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing