We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but breakfast lacking”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, but breakfast lacking”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was a great hotel, and very reasonably priced. The rooms were a great size (I don't understand why people expect large rooms in cities). Everything was spotless and the bed was massive, with nice heavy duvets. The decor of the hotel is fantastic, and very modern. I loved the tablet in the room that controlled everything, and the free movies were great! After being at a concert the night before, we got up for breakfast at about 10 o'clock. It seemed that there was a serious lack of food. This was disappointing- if a hotel says that they will do breakfast until 6.30- 11 o'clock then the standards should not slip at any point in between.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMuir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,302
    1,359
    295
    109
    61
See reviews for
265
2,862
329
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

when you go away on a trip for the weekend you hope that your hotel is all you hope it would be and ours certainly was, a great start for us. our room was clean , the bed is big and comfortable the shower is great there are free movies, the tv , lights , room temperature and blinds are worked by using a tablet which froze on me a couple of times but i just reset it . the staff that i met seemed friendly . we didn't spend time in the bar or rest area but will the next time we are there, we had planned to spend time out and about in the city centre which is right on the doorstep this hotel is situated in a good place.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 7th floor( 741) which was fine no problems with traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karm877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Nothing wrong with it, staff great, bar ok but expensive, room is about the same size as the ibis at Springfield quay and much the same really, apart from triple the price, with a few Philips colour change light bulbs and free movies. Parents beware three pages of on demand porn, bar full of geeks (like me) but plenty of places to go nearby, ok but not worth the money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mrn1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for my partners birthday, amazing hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great rooms, shower and bed were perfect, loved the stay all together. Although the selection of movies and tv channels could be better, also the water in bathroom was warm even when on the cold side. Would definitely stay again and will also recommend to friends and family! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleynicole3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The staff here were exceptional, they really couldn't be more helpful. The room was good, very modern. The location is ideal for all shops, bars and nightlife. I would recommend the Thai Lemongrass which is just down the road from the hotel, we had a lovely meal there. The food at hotel was good too, and remarkably reasonable alcohol!! We will definitely return soon. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 635stevena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is what a city overnight hotel should be like.
It's centrally located. It looks very cool from the outside (mood lighting and lots of great design on show). Check in was quick, extremely efficient, friendly and incredibly helpful.
The rooms are small but brilliantly designed with a bathroom pod, a funky sink unit, controllable mood lighting, Eames chair and a HUGE comforable bed.
The entertainment system is operated from an Android tablet on the bedside, which also allows you free internet access. Wi Fi is fast and free throughout. TV and ALL KINDS OF FILMS are free.
Within 10 minutes I feel that the hotel is totally geared towards putting the guest at the centre of things...rather than just seeing the guest as a cash cow.
I was late arriving so was glad to find that food is available 24 hrs....the bar is open until 2 am. It's a very cool bar too, staffed by infectiously enthusiastic youngsters (Chris and an engaging Spanish lass in my case). Cocktails seem to be a speciality...if not for me.
Thhe place is chocca with mid 20th century design classics from the vitra range. Impressively, this includes a Panton Tower...though I didn't see anyone use it. There are several lounge seating areas with shelves full of books and magazines and each with a large telly. There's also an area full of iMacs .... free to use of course.
Parking is in an adjacent multi-story (about 2 minutes walk) and the hotel seem to have a discount deal. Very reasonable.
All in all it's a really impressive achievement and it just shows what can be done. Rooms are very well priced (well under £70). Breakfast was the usual "help yourself" fare, but at least it included proper espresso coffee, made freshly to your requirements. I'd say that food is the one area that could be improved....better selection perhaps, although this appears to be a compromise in aid of making food available at convenience to the guest, so in keeping with the rest of the enterprise.
I had a combination of deli selection and a wines of the world (3 different glasses) promotion for £13.50 which was really good value.

I wish there was a hotel based upon this model in every city. I would never, ever look apst it and I'll never look at anywhere else in Glasgow in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cns259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Citizen M for the first time last night. For only £60 for the night I was pleasantly surprised. It was very clean, had a hair dryer, shampoo etc everything you need to travel light. The self check in was great but staff are still around to check that you are ok. The bar is open til 2am and the canteen 24 hours but heard no noise.
When we got to the room we were impressed with the huge comfy bed and the cool mood lighting. The tablet that controlled the tv, lights, temperature etc was very cool and modern. You even get free movies. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
708 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,663 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing