We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stay here”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the CitizenM hotel in Glasgow and I've loved it both times. First time was for work and the second time was for a night out in Glasgow. Things I loved best:
Huge comfy bed
Lots of movies you can watch for free
Excellent shower with delicious smelling shower gels
Great interior decorations
Delicious breakfast buffet
Excellent cocktail bar

I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,181
    1,292
    281
    100
    58
See reviews for
248
2,729
319
785
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We looked forward to staying at the hotel Citizen M, which from the website appeared to be modern, fresh and with a certain quirkiness about it when comparing it with the other hotels in the same price range. We were massively disappointed. One of the few positives this hotel had for us was it's location, it is bang in the centre of Glasgow just a very short walk from the bus station and main shopping area which was very handy.

On arrival the self service check-in worked well and we found our way to a room which on immediate inspection did not have any tea/coffee making facilities...this was a major disappointment. The room was what some may describe as 'bijoux' but it just felt too tiny with the enormous bed taking up most of the space. This in theory may sound good but seeing as the bed was most uncomfortable and awfully awkward to get into or even just onto - as there was only one chair in the room so nowhere else to sit if more than one person - meant it did not work well for us.

The speaker system and the bathroom lights were a nice touch, as was the shower good but there was not much privacy if needing to go to the loo. There was a curtain to pull across to separate the areas but this just reminded us of the kind that nurses pull around the beds in a hospital ward...weird! The sink unit was damaged, as the tap was slack and coming away from the sink, which in turn was marked with what looked like an old cigarette burn. The remote controlled black out blinds were handy for a good nights sleep but of no real use considering the bed was so uncomfortable. We really wanted to like Citizen M but we can only say that we were disappointed. A decently priced, centrally located hotel but due to all the negative points we encountered on our stay, it would not be somewhere we choose to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable. Comfy beds, great bathrooms with amazing showers, excellent television, free wifi, and a marvelous bar/restaurant. Staff could not possibly be more accommodating. Very happy with this hotel, but know that it is really very modern and not especially traditional.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at CitizenM for three days with a friend.
Room is tiny, but clean and ok.
Big minus: having the toilet/shower in a semitransparent box inside the room is just plain stupid, even if it might looked cool on the first drawings of the hotel.
Friendly and helpful staff, nice that you can buy beer until 2am. Also on the plus side that there is a cheap, but decent cafeteria on the premises.
On the minus side: We had to change rooms in the middle of the night, because of a leak or something.
Also annoying when TV buttons/remote control are connected via the internet, meaning that the TV don’t work when the connection is down. Which it was every now and then. I don’t mind a hotel trying to be trendy and future and digitally updated, but then stuff have to work all the time. Also: The safe didn’t work.
Positive: late check out was easy to fix even if we hadn’t pre-arranged it. Again: friendly staff.
I might sound a bit on the negative side here, it was just many small things that occured during our days at CitizenM. Would consider staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

this is the second time that myself and my wife have stayed at this particular hotel in Glasgow and we have never been let down by either of the staff or the hotel itself. The room was great , very clean and had everything that we needed for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard tend to be slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night through work and having tried several hotels around Glasgow in the last month, I didn't have high expectations. However this place is absolutely brilliant! The staff are all fantastic, every single one offers up a smile, asks to assist you and shares banter if you offer it. The rooms are very quirky and absolutely ideal for what you need - to sleep and wash! They are really clean, comfortable and perfectly formed! Slightly space-age technology stumped even my 26 year old mind but I soon got my head around the remote control that operates everything in the room! The blackout blinds actually DO blackout the sun. The shower rains down, is perfectly hot and strong! The design of the communal areas is fun, bright and eccentric. Honestly. Couldn't recommend it enough! Looking forward to it opening in Shoreditch...!!! x

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KateH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crumlin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed at Citizen M, Glasgow for 1 night. What an amazing hotel. Check in by computer. Giant king sized bed. Everything in the room controlled by bedside tablet ie aircon, blinds, TV and wonderful mood lighting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusybeeCrumlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
534 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,010 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing