We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really my cup of tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not really my cup of tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I feel like altho this Hotel wasn't really to my taste, I cannot give less than 4 stars due to the fab service. My sister booked us a room for my birthday and, as it was a special occasion, the staff left a piece of cake and a card allowing us 2 complimentary drinks, in our room. Booking in is all done on a touch screen but helpful staff are their to guide you with what to do if you are unsure. I can honestly say that every person we encountered was super nice and super knowledgeable. What I didn't like was the actual hotel. The bedroom was tiny, no basics like tea or coffee. It all seemed so minimal and white. We did figure out how to use the TV, put the blinds down, change the lighting etc all from a touch pad but I found myself longing for some "normality" and not the feeling of sleeping in a spaceship. I guess this is personal taste however so if you are looking for a new hotel experience then try it out. I, unfortunately, will not be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,186
    1,293
    281
    100
    58
See reviews for
248
2,735
319
785
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights last weekend and had the best time. I was blown away by the concept - the DIY check-in impressed us to begin with but we were left gob-smacked by the room! The photos online really don't do it justice. Huge comfy bed that takes up the whole window space, all electrics in the room controlled from a tablet computer (blinds, lights, colourful shower lights, TV and films, free porn haha!) We stopped off for a drink in the bar arriving back late on our second night and there was a lovely atmosphere. Special metion should also be given to how friendly and helpful all the staff were.

CitizenM made me feel like a big kid - I can't remember the last time I felt excited about a hotel. We will actively seek these hotels out in future. (They aren't paying me, I promise!)

One complaint only - we didn't get one of the little dolls. We did survive though!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

While looking for a cheaper hotel for a single night stay in Glasgow my partner and I chose this hotel admittedly for the modern design and the quirky personality. Not only did the room layout and the mood pad features provide a cool and entertaining experience but every single member of staff we encountered were thoroughly friendly and very helpful. The deli/bar was value for money and well stocked for both snacks and drinks in the evening and breakfast and coffee in the morning. This is a great budget hotel in a great location, the design and technology are very prominent so if that kind of approach isnt your thing then this is not the place for you but it beats any other budget hotel I have stayed in hands down!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisholden1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay. Room clean, bed very comfy, lovely and quiet, swift check in, powerful shower and loving the tablet room controls.

Warning...don't send your Granny unless she is a whizz on the iPad!

Trip advisor won't accept my 166 characters, it seems it wasn't enough for a review. However, now I've written this last line, I'm in!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Funky little hotel with cool ikea like decor & furniture. Rooms compact and great for a 1 or 2 night stay. A bit small for any longer. Good location & friendly staff. I would imagine more suited to a younger clientele as can't imagine 50+ age group being impressed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 22dolly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for 1 night and i loved it. The rooms are small but very efficiently laid out. The enormous bed was comfortable, the towels were very good quality, ok the wash hand basin was a bit small, but good enought to brush the teeth. It was a very clean room. Different decor from hotels i have been in lately: colour full furniture, clean lines, good photography on the walls, very helpfull staff. The breakfast was ok, not spectacular. The location is very central, not far from the bus station. I will go again when i am in Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berthyverhage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Citizenm is a great hotel.. I didn't want to leave the room! It's small and doesn't have a kettle but as soon as you arrive you don't want to leave..staff are friendly and helpful! Would recommend this to anyone visiting..even if it's just for a night! LOVE IT!! Oh and the shower is amazing!! All n all a great hotel and will go back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandan1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing