We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hi Tech Gimmicks but no Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hi Tech Gimmicks but no Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Whilst check-in is a swift and easy process, I'm disappointed you are not able to pay in cash if you wish. I had to make my own bed and for the cost of my room was shocked breakfast is an additional cost. The bedside table did not allow for you to place any personal belongings onto it because it was full of the docking station and the tablet, which were fixed. If you have a long dress the hook for the hangers is too low and they drag on the floor, so I had to balance the hanger on the glass shelf above. The radio channels did not work. If you are driving to the hotel there is no parking, you get a discount at certain local car parks however the cost will soon mount up. I think some maintenance was underway during my stay, as there were nuts on the floor by the lift when I was leaving (bit of a hazard), need to clear up more carefully.

Good points: great shower, large bed and the mood lighting provided some entertainment. Great location within Glasgow for getting about.

Overall a disappointing stay and I wouldn't rush to go back in a hurry. If service is key you this is not the place for you, it's more of a do it yourself hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,144
    1,272
    279
    99
    57
See reviews for
244
2,691
316
775
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Modular on the outside in a convenient location. The checkin lady was was helpful. The room was clean and quiet designed in the modular Japanese style. There was a large comfortable bed and a deliciously hot shower just what was needed after a 5 hour train journey. Because it was a late checkin, there was no hot meal in the hotel, but a fair choice of food suitable as late night sustenance ( I had sushi) with a choice of papers to read in the dining area which was very lively depite the lateness of the hour. Breakfast was solid and there were plenty of nooks and crannies to sit undisturbed while you ate. The room entertainment system was very modern but had a problem with the radio component, no doubt it will have been sorted out promptly, not a major issue as the TV worked well. I had no time for the movie selection which was extensive but rather populist in taste. Overall, the hotel had the right balance of avtivity and peacefulness, a rare combination in hotels & it had a wide clientele; backpackers, couples, business types & tourists. Very enjoyable. I'd recommend it and stay again.

Room Tip: Room away from the street is said to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

It's a shame we didn't have more time to explore all the differents areas of this hi-tech hotel more thoroughly because what we did see was very impressive, from the suite of Apple computers, Art and Sculpture, through to the check in process, it was slick and stylish and , suprisiingly , all very easy to use. Even the bedroom, all functions running off a Samsung tablet was very stylish, only minor gripe was that breakfast was an 'extra' but my partner did say it was the best fruit salad she had had at any UK hotel...ever.. oh and those beds..enormous and so comfortable...highly recommend if you are in Glasgow for a night.

Room Tip: If you are parking in Buchanan Galleries unload your cases first, it's a bit more than 5 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxblack2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for the night and loved the stylish decor, free movies and wifi. Great place if you're going to end up spending some time hanging out in the hotel. Had a very comfortable sleep and was in a great location right next to the bus station. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Having stayed at Citizen before we were keen to return as it is full character. The hotel is really funky, lots of bright colourful interesting things to look at. The rooms are small but well equipped and charming. Half the room is taken up with the enormous bed. The other half with a huge colour changing shower. Its definitely intimate, not sure I would want to share a room with someone other than a partner.

The bar area is fantastic loads of seating areas to choose from. The bar staff are really friendly and helpful. I was made two completely unique cocktails (although I suffered in the morning)!

Altogether this is a fab hotel for anyone looking for something a little bit different in the centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had been to this hotel previously for business meetings but had not stayed over so when the opportunity arose for me to do an overnight stay in Glasgow I had no hesitation in booking this hotel. All I can say is this hotel is great, from the moment I went to check in the service was outstanding, there was a problem with my booking (due to the booking agent not the hotel) and the hotel staff were great and helped to get everything sorted out. My room was amazing, I just love the decor the room automation, the free films the fab bathroom, the enormous bed - I could go on but I think you get the gist In terms of location again that worked for me as its walking distance from the train station - all I can say is that I would highly recommend this hotel and I'm looking forward to my next trip to Glasgow and CitizenM

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

What a place Citizen M is.
It was a joy to see and sit on so many stylist vitra products, hang out with Vernon Pantone chairs and Marcel Wanders stuff all in one place…… and not be in a gallery! Whilst this open space experience and our delightfully funky room tickets sooooo many user experience boxes it was all brought together by quite fantastic staff. We were lucky to engage with many staff over our short stay who were all charming particular praise must be given to Lauren and Max.
Thank you to all.... Going to Glasgow...Why stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLM167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing